What is JacketFlap

  • JacketFlap connects you to the work of more than 200,000 authors, illustrators, publishers and other creators of books for Children and Young Adults. The site is updated daily with information about every book, author, illustrator, and publisher in the children's / young adult book industry. Members include published authors and illustrators, librarians, agents, editors, publicists, booksellers, publishers and fans.
    Join now (it's free).

Sort Blog Posts

Sort Posts by:

  • in
    from   

Suggest a Blog

Enter a Blog's Feed URL below and click Submit:

Most Commented Posts

In the past 7 days

Recent Posts

(tagged with 'In My Opinion')

Recent Comments

Recently Viewed

JacketFlap Sponsors

Spread the word about books.
Put this Widget on your blog!
  • Powered by JacketFlap.com

Are you a book Publisher?
Learn about Widgets now!

Advertise on JacketFlap

MyJacketFlap Blogs

  • Login or Register for free to create your own customized page of blog posts from your favorite blogs. You can also add blogs by clicking the "Add to MyJacketFlap" links next to the blog name in each post.

Blog Posts by Tag

In the past 7 days

Blog Posts by Date

Click days in this calendar to see posts by day or month
new posts in all blogs
Viewing: Blog Posts Tagged with: In My Opinion, Most Recent at Top [Help]
Results 1 - 11 of 11
1. Supreme Court, or Supreme Law of the Land?

So I was sitting in the pit at work, answering phones, like I always do when I’m not in clinic with my doctor, when my gay co-worker burst into the room, shaking, laughing and smiling.

“The Supreme Court just ruled same-sex marriage legal! Now I can get married whenever and wherever I want to!”

I blinked, absorbed what he was saying and then forced a smile in a silent form of congratulations. Thinking to myself, The Supreme Court did what??

That’s how I found out that same-sex marriage is now legal in every state.

I’ve been thinking about writing this post for the past 48 hours. How I wanted to write it. What I wanted to write about this subject. And it’s a toughie. It truly is. Let me see if I can first break my thoughts down and secondly try and make it as fair to all parties that I can.

Yes. I work with a gay man. He is the sweetest and most likable person I’ve ever known. I’ve liked him from the very moment I met him. And we get along famously. In fact, his sense of humor reminds me so much of my brother that I sort of SEE and TREAT him like a little brother. Yes. I’ve told him that before.

So I’ve had to be very careful in how I approach this subject at work because it would kill me to hurt this guy’s feelings. I truly like and care about him and I’m a lot of things, but I’m never intentionally cruel to someone – I have too much respect for the people in my life, or the people I like, to go out of my way to be deliberately nasty to them.

But I don’t agree with the gay lifestyle.

WAIT. DON’T GO. Hear me out, please.

I don’t believe God intended men to be with men. Or women to be with women. And no matter how we sugar coat it, or think of different ways to redefine it, marriage is between a man and a woman. Period. I’ve never understood why the gay community insisted on redefining that word. That word belongs to the heterosexual, get your own damn word. Call it a civil union, or a gay union, or whatever else you want to define two gay people becoming legally/contractually obligated to each other, but marriage is OURS.

Or it was until the Supreme Court stuck their high and mighty noses into it.

So, no. I don’t agree with the gay lifestyle. I don’t think it’s natural or beautiful or any other label you want to attach to it. I don’t believe you’re born a homosexual. I believe it’s a conscious/subconscious choice that is influenced by outside factors. I think people are born with a homosexual tendency, like a person is born with alcoholic/drug addiction tendencies and those people have to work that much harder to resist the temptation, but no, I don’t think there’s a special “gene” that makes a person gay.

This is what I believe. Disagree if you must. But here’s the thing – I really don’t care if someone *chooses to live that sort of lifestyle.

No really.

I. Don’t. Care.

It’s really none of my business how a person lives his/her life. I figure the gay community will be judged at some point and that at some point they will have to look God in the eye and explain their behavior.

I say, “good luck with that.” *SALUTE*

God granted humans the gift of free will – if one chooses to live by the rules that God has set forth in His Word, then that person will be rewarded when Christ comes back to get us. If one chooses NOT to live by the rules that God has set forth, then that person will not be rewarded. But it doesn’t really matter how a Christian lives his/her life, God loves us no matter what choices we make. If a person has accepted Jesus Christ into his/her heart and confessed with his/her mouth that Christ is Lord and was raised from the dead, then that person is a child of God. And just like our flesh and blood children sometimes disappoint us and/or don’t live their lives like we would like them to, they are still our children and we still love them.

The same principle applies to God’s children.

So a gay man may be a Christian and God will still love that man, but he will be disappointed and like a naughty child, that man will not be rewarded for his choices.

For with the gift of free will comes consequences of that free will.

If I choose to hold up a liquor store and steal all of their money, that was my choice. Granted, it was a poor choice, but mine, nonetheless. And the consequences of that choice is jail time.

I won’t pretend to know what God’s consequences will be for not choosing to live by His rules, but I’m sure there WILL be consequences. How can there not?

So honestly, who cares what my opinion is? Who cares if I disagree with a gay person’s decision and/or lifestyle. It’s ultimately none of my business how that person lives his/her life as it’s none of that person’s business how I live my life. WHO CARES WHAT ANYONE DOES BEHIND CLOSED DOORS.

I think my biggest beef with this whole legalizing a gay union (because I REFUSE to call it marriage – marriage belongs to HETEROSEXUALS), is that the Supreme Court turned my voice, my vote, null and void. They spoke FOR the people. They completely ignored the constitution, the states’ rights and basically said, “Fuck you” to everyone and made our decision for us.

They put on their emperor’s crowns and simply made a decision for everyone.

And the scariest part? This is just the beginning. The ice has been broken. Because now that they’ve done it this once, it will that much easier to do again. And again. And again. And before long? We will become a nation of robots that are TOLD what to do, how to live and how to think. And if we dare color outside the lines, WE WILL BE PUNISHED.

And the end begins …

I don’t want to scare anyone, or sound like some crazed religious person, but now would be a good time to start thinking about the afterlife. Because it’s all downhill from here and Christ WILL come back – are you ready? And I know what you’re thinking, “you’re crazy. Whatever.” What if my beliefs are right?

What if?

And let’s not be naive and think this decision, this turning stone, stops here. Guess what’s next?

Pedophiles want same rights as homosexuals

Using the same tactics used by “gay” rights activists, pedophiles have begun to seek similar status arguing their desire for children is a sexual orientation no different than heterosexual or homosexuals.

Critics of the homosexual lifestyle have long claimed that once it became acceptable to identify homosexuality as simply an “alternative lifestyle” or sexual orientation, logically nothing would be off limits.

“Gay” advocates have taken offense at such a position insisting this would never happen. However, psychiatrists are now beginning to advocate redefining pedophilia in the same way homosexuality was redefined several years ago.

Van Gijseghem, psychologist and retired professor of the University of Montreal, told members of Parliament, “Pedophiles are not simply people who commit a small offense from time-to-time but rather are grappling with what is equivalent to a sexual orientation just like another individual may be grappling with heterosexuality or even homosexuality.”

He went on to say, “True pedophiles have an exclusive preference for children, which is the same as having a sexual orientation. You cannot change this person’s sexual orientation. He may, however, remain abstinent.”

When asked if he should be comparing pedophiles to homosexuals, Van Gijseghem replied, “If, for instance, you were living in a society where heterosexuality is proscribed or prohibited and you were told that you had to get therapy to change your sexual orientation, you would probably say that that is slightly crazy. In other words, you would not accept that at all. I use this analogy to say that, yes indeed, pedophiles do not change their sexual orientation.”

The ripple effect begins.

And before you pooh-pooh this “ridiculious notion” away, consider this:

This article from the Greeley Gazette was originally published in 2011. But now, there’s actually a constitutional argument that can be made in its favor.

And did anyone think gay unions would be legal in every state 30 years ago?

And if you’re interested in what Christianity has to say about homosexuality, please watch the following videos: Teaching: Christian’s View on Homosexuality – Parts One / Two, Three / Four, Five / Six.

The slippery slope just got a whole lot slippier.


Filed under: Can We Talk?, In My Opinion

0 Comments on Supreme Court, or Supreme Law of the Land? as of 6/28/2015 5:50:00 PM
Add a Comment
2. In My Opinion: May 18, 2011

A weekly vlog of me answering questions. I’m doing this primarily to leave a bit of myself behind for my children. Thanks for bearing with me as I make a fool out of myself. :D

Here are the questions for this week:

1. Describe the best live musical performance you’ve ever attended.

2. What scents bring back vivid memories for you?

3. Is the price of gas making you drive less?

And here is my video response to these questions:


Next week’s questions…

1. If you could be invisible for the day, what would you do?

2. What household project have you been putting off?

3. Did you watch the royal wedding and what were your thoughts?


Filed under: In My Opinion

0 Comments on In My Opinion: May 18, 2011 as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
3. In My Opinion: Take Eleven


In My Opinion: Weekly Video meme from writefromkaren.com

If you played, please insert the DIRECT link to your video response in the Mr. Linky box below. I’ll convert these links tomorrow so Google and Technorati will pick them up.

Welcome to the eleventh In My Opinion!! Did you answer the questions? I hope so!

Here are the questions for this week:

1. Do you have any favorite childhood memories?

2. What’s something you’ve won, and how did you win it? (If you haven’t won anything, tell us how often you enter contests and what sort of contests you like to enter).

3. If a new medicine were developed that would cure arthritis but cause a fatal reaction in one percent of those who took it, would you want it to be released to the public?

And here is my video response to these questions:

more about "In My Opinion – May 13 on Vimeo", posted with vodpod


(RSS readers – I don’t think Vimeo videos show up in readers. Please click over to my site to see the video. Sorry about that!)

I had too much fun taping this and I hope you had fun watching it; I also hope my children/grandchildren treasure it someday. Because really, that’s what In My Opinion is all about – leaving a bit of you behind.


Ready for next week’s questions? Brace yourself …

May 20th Questions

1. If you could go on three websites for the next month which would you choose and why.

2. How do you think your generation is different from previous generations.

3. What books on your shelf are begging to be read? (Show us a picture, or video, of your to be read pile).

Need to know more about this video meme? Check this entry out.
__________________

Follow me on Twitter I’m on Twitter – a lot. You can find me @writefromkaren. Please follow me? I’m lonely over there.

Posted in In My Opinion

0 Comments on In My Opinion: Take Eleven as of 5/13/2009 2:24:00 PM
Add a Comment
4. In My Opinion: Take Twelve


In My Opinion: Weekly Video meme from writefromkaren.com

If you played, please insert the DIRECT link to your video response in the Mr. Linky box below. I’ll convert these links tomorrow so Google and Technorati will pick them up.

Welcome to the twelfth In My Opinion!! Did you answer the questions? I hope so!

Here are the questions for this week:

1. If you could go on three websites for the next month which would you choose and why.

2. How do you think your generation is different from previous generations.

3. What books on your shelf are begging to be read? (Show us a picture, or video, of your to be read pile).

And here is my video response to these questions:

more about "In My Opinion – May 20 on Vimeo", posted with vodpod


(RSS readers – I don’t think Vimeo videos show up in readers. Please click over to my site to see the video. Sorry about that!)

I had too much fun taping this and I hope you had fun watching it; I also hope my children/grandchildren treasure it someday. Because really, that’s what In My Opinion is all about – leaving a bit of you behind.


Ready for next week’s questions? Brace yourself …

May 27th Questions

1. What are your strengths?

2. How often do you doodle? What do your doodles usually look like?

3. Addressed to your significant other: What previous experiences do you wish I could have shared with you?

Need to know more about this video meme? Check this entry out.
__________________

Follow me on Twitter I’m on Twitter – a lot. You can find me @writefromkaren. Please follow me? I’m lonely over there.

Posted in In My Opinion

1 Comments on In My Opinion: Take Twelve, last added: 5/20/2009
Display Comments Add a Comment
5. In My Opinion: May 4, 2011

So I thought I’d resurrect the video meme I started last year. Why? Because I like to vlog but I never know what to vlog about, so … let’s answer some questions.

Don’t want to vlog? No problem! Just answer the questions either in the comment section or answer them on your own blog and leave a link so I can visit.

If you played, please insert the DIRECT link to your video response below.



Here are the questions for this week:

1. Do you think you’ll ever go back to school?

2. What can’t you leave home without? (Either during an emergency or every day – or both).

3. Describe what your handwriting looks like.

And here is my video response to these questions:

I had too much fun taping this and I hope you had fun watching it; I also hope my children/grandchildren treasure it someday. Because really, that’s what In My Opinion is all about – leaving a bit of you behind.

Want to ask a specific question? Leave it in the comments and I’ll include it on the next IMO. (I reserve the right to edit the question for content or not use it if it’s too personal. *smile*)


Ready for next week’s questions? Brace yourself …

1. What makes awkward moments so awkward?

2. What’s the biggest challenge you’re currently facing?

3. What do you do to stay healthy?

Need to know more about this video meme? Check this entry out.


The person (or people, if there is more than one person who meets the criteria then I will draw one person from those eligible), who participates the most (and it must be a vlog) before July 27th, will be eligible to win a $25.00 Amazon gift card! SO, in addition to having fun vlogging, you also have a chance to win a $25 gift card! Sweet!


Here’s a button to use on your site, if you want it. :-)


__________________

Follow me on Twitter I’m on Twitter – a lot. You can find me @writefromkaren. Please follow me? I’m lonely over there.


Filed under: In My Opinion 0 Comments on In My Opinion: May 4, 2011 as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
6. In My Opinion – May 11, 2011

IMO

So I thought I’d resurrect the video meme I started last year. Why? Because I like to vlog but I never know what to vlog about, so … let’s answer some questions.

Don’t want to vlog? No problem! Just answer the questions either in the comment section or answer them on your own blog and leave a link so I can visit.

If you played, please insert the DIRECT link to your video response below.



Here are the questions for this week:

1. What makes awkward moments so awkward?

2. What’s the biggest challenge you’re currently facing?

3. What do you do to stay healthy?

And here is my video response to these questions:

I had too much fun taping this and I hope you had fun watching it; I also hope my children/grandchildren treasure it someday. Because really, that’s what In My Opinion is all about – leaving a bit of you behind.

Want to ask a specific question? Leave it in the comments and I’ll include it on the next IMO. (I reserve the right to edit the question for content or not use it if it’s too personal. *smile*)


Ready for next week’s questions? Brace yourself …

1. Describe the best live musical performance you’ve ever attended.

2. What scents bring back vivid memories for you?

3. Is the price of gas making you drive less?

Need to know more about this video meme? Check this entry out.


The person (or people, if there is more than one person who meets the criteria then I will draw one person from those eligible), who participates the most (and it must be a vlog) before July 27th, will be eligible to win a $25.00 Amazon gift card! SO, in addition to having fun vlogging, you also have a chance to win a $25 gift card! Sweet!


Here’s a button to use on your site, if you want it. :-)


__________________

Follow me on Twitter I’m on Twitter – a lot. You can find me @writefromkaren. Please follow me? I’m lonely over there.


Filed under: In My Opinion
0 Comments on In My Opinion – May 11, 2011 as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
7. In My Opinion: Take Six


If you played, please insert the DIRECT link to your video response in the Mr. Linky box below. I’ll convert these links tomorrow so Google and Technorati will pick them up.

Welcome to the sixth In My Opinion!! Did you answer the questions? I hope so!

Here are the questions for this week:

1. How many siblings do you have? What is your birth order? Do you agree with the birth order characteristics? Why, or why not?

2. What’s the tastiest meal that you can cook? Do you like to cook? Tell us about your cooking experiences.

3. Has anything bad ever happened to you that turned out to be for the best? Has anything good ever happened to that turned out to be a bad thing in the end? Tell us about it.

And here is my video response to these questions:

I had too much fun taping this and I hope you had fun watching it; I also hope my children/grandchildren treasure it someday. Because really, that’s what In My Opinion is all about - leaving a bit of you behind.


Ready for next week’s questions? Brace yourself …

April 15th Questions

1. Tax Day. Boo! What are your thoughts on taxes? Necessary evil? Too much? Too little? How do you feel about Joe the Plumber’s mission to abolish the IRS? (You can find out more about the Fair Tax proposal here.)

2. Are you more likely to avoid conflict or engage in it head-on? Why?

3. Which do you prefer: the hustle and bustle of city life or the quiet and serenity of the country life? Why?

Need to know about this video meme? Check this entry out.

__________________

Follow me on Twitter By the by, I changed my username on Twitter, you can now find me @writefromkaren. I made an account before I realized that I could simply change my username on my existing account - yes, I’m a dweeb. If you follow me, I’ll follow you! Please follow me? I’m lonely over there.

Posted in In My Opinion

0 Comments on In My Opinion: Take Six as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
8. In My Opinion: Take Seven


If you played, please insert the DIRECT link to your video response in the Mr. Linky box below. I’ll convert these links tomorrow so Google and Technorati will pick them up.

Welcome to the seventh In My Opinion!! Did you answer the questions? I hope so!

Here are the questions for this week:

1. Tax Day. Boo! What are your thoughts on taxes? Necessary evil? Too much? Too little? How do you feel about Joe the Plumber’s mission to abolish the IRS? (You can find out more about the Fair Tax proposal here.)

2. Are you more likely to avoid conflict or engage in it head-on? Why?

3. Which do you prefer: the hustle and bustle of city life or the quiet and serenity of the country life? Why?

And here is my video response to these questions:

tealogo Side note: By the by, this post does a good job describing my frustration with taxes. It’s about fiscal responsibility - *gasp*. I apologize for saying the “R” word. Everyone seems to treat that like a dirty word, nowadays.

I had too much fun taping this and I hope you had fun watching it; I also hope my children/grandchildren treasure it someday. Because really, that’s what In My Opinion is all about - leaving a bit of you behind.


Ready for next week’s questions? Brace yourself …

April 22nd Questions

1. One of mom’s traits I admired is/was …

2. I remember getting into trouble with my parents on this occasion.

3. Are you more of a rule keeper, or a rule breaker? Why?

Need to know about this video meme? Check this entry out.

__________________

Follow me on Twitter I’m on Twitter - a lot. You can find me @writefromkaren. Please follow me? I’m lonely over there.

Posted in In My Opinion

3 Comments on In My Opinion: Take Seven, last added: 4/17/2009
Display Comments Add a Comment
9. In My Opinion: Take Eight


In My Opinion: Weekly Video meme from writefromkaren.com

If you played, please insert the DIRECT link to your video response in the Mr. Linky box below. I’ll convert these links tomorrow so Google and Technorati will pick them up.

Welcome to the eighth In My Opinion!! Did you answer the questions? I hope so!

Here are the questions for this week:

1. One of mom’s traits I admired is/was …

2. I remember getting into trouble with my parents on this occasion.

3. Are you more of a rule keeper, or a rule breaker? Why?

And here is my video response to these questions:

more about "In My Opinion - April 22 on Vimeo", posted with vodpod


(RSS readers - I don’t think Vimeo videos show up in readers. Please click over to my site to see the video. Sorry about that!)

I had too much fun taping this and I hope you had fun watching it; I also hope my children/grandchildren treasure it someday. Because really, that’s what In My Opinion is all about - leaving a bit of you behind.


Ready for next week’s questions? Brace yourself …

April 29th Questions

1. One of dad’s traits I admired is/was …

2. A question about your significant other: Long before you met, what did you picture your future mate would be like?

3. Who is the closest friend you’ve ever had? Describe that relationship.

Need to know more about this video meme? Check this entry out.

__________________

Follow me on Twitter I’m on Twitter - a lot. You can find me @writefromkaren. Please follow me? I’m lonely over there.

Posted in In My Opinion

1 Comments on In My Opinion: Take Eight, last added: 4/25/2009
Display Comments Add a Comment
10. In My Opinion - Take Nine


In My Opinion: Weekly Video meme from writefromkaren.com

If you played, please insert the DIRECT link to your video response in the Mr. Linky box below. I’ll convert these links tomorrow so Google and Technorati will pick them up.

Welcome to the ninth In My Opinion!! Did you answer the questions? I hope so!

Here are the questions for this week:

1. One of dad’s traits I admired is/was …

2. A question about your significant other: Long before you met, what did you picture your future mate would be like?

3. Who is the closest friend you’ve ever had? Describe that relationship.

And here is my video response to these questions:

more about "In My Opinion - April 29 on Vimeo", posted with vodpod


(RSS readers - I don’t think Vimeo videos show up in readers. Please click over to my site to see the video. Sorry about that!)

I had too much fun taping this and I hope you had fun watching it; I also hope my children/grandchildren treasure it someday. Because really, that’s what In My Opinion is all about - leaving a bit of you behind.


Ready for next week’s questions? Brace yourself …

May 6th Questions

1. Happy Mother’s Day! Tell us what being a mother means to you.

2. What was your favorite pastime as a child?

3. Do you normally eat dinner as a family? How important do you think family dinners are?

Need to know more about this video meme? Check this entry out.

__________________

Follow me on Twitter I’m on Twitter - a lot. You can find me @writefromkaren. Please follow me? I’m lonely over there.

Posted in In My Opinion

0 Comments on In My Opinion - Take Nine as of 4/29/2009 7:06:00 AM
Add a Comment
11. In My Opinion: Take Ten


In My Opinion: Weekly Video meme from writefromkaren.com

If you played, please insert the DIRECT link to your video response in the Mr. Linky box below. I’ll convert these links tomorrow so Google and Technorati will pick them up.
In My Opinion Participants

1. Jen E @ mommablogsalot

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

Welcome to the tenth In My Opinion!! Did you answer the questions? I hope so!

Here are the questions for this week:

1. Happy Mother’s Day! Tell us what being a mother means to you.

2. What was your favorite pastime as a child?

3. Do you normally eat dinner as a family? How important do you think family dinners are?

And here is my video response to these questions:

more about "In My Opinion – May 6 on Vimeo", posted with vodpod


(RSS readers – I don’t think Vimeo videos show up in readers. Please click over to my site to see the video. Sorry about that!)

I had too much fun taping this and I hope you had fun watching it; I also hope my children/grandchildren treasure it someday. Because really, that’s what In My Opinion is all about – leaving a bit of you behind.


Ready for next week’s questions? Brace yourself …

May 13th Questions

1. Do you have any favorite childhood memories?

2. What’s something you’ve won, and how did you win it? (If you haven’t won anything, tell us how often you enter contests and what sort of contests you like to enter).

3. If a new medicine were developed that would cure arthritis but cause a fatal reaction in one percent of those who took it, would you want it to be released to the public?

Need to know more about this video meme? Check this entry out.

I also thought this video from Dr. Laura would bless some of you out there, too.



HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!!


__________________

Follow me on Twitter I’m on Twitter – a lot. You can find me @writefromkaren. Please follow me? I’m lonely over there.

Posted in In My Opinion

2 Comments on In My Opinion: Take Ten, last added: 5/8/2009
Display Comments Add a Comment