What is JacketFlap

  • JacketFlap connects you to the work of more than 200,000 authors, illustrators, publishers and other creators of books for Children and Young Adults. The site is updated daily with information about every book, author, illustrator, and publisher in the children's / young adult book industry. Members include published authors and illustrators, librarians, agents, editors, publicists, booksellers, publishers and fans.
    Join now (it's free).

Sort Blog Posts

Sort Posts by:

  • in
    from   

Suggest a Blog

Enter a Blog's Feed URL below and click Submit:

Most Commented Posts

In the past 7 days

Recent Posts

(tagged with 'book review')

Recent Comments

JacketFlap Sponsors

Spread the word about books.
Put this Widget on your blog!
  • Powered by JacketFlap.com

Are you a book Publisher?
Learn about Widgets now!

Advertise on JacketFlap

MyJacketFlap Blogs

  • Login or Register for free to create your own customized page of blog posts from your favorite blogs. You can also add blogs by clicking the "Add to MyJacketFlap" links next to the blog name in each post.

Blog Posts by Date

Click days in this calendar to see posts by day or month
<<May 2015>>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
     0102
03040506070809
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
new posts in all blogs
Viewing: Blog Posts Tagged with: book review, Most Recent at Top [Help]
Results 1 - 25 of 2,603
1. Kishaz Reading Corner: The Sheikh's Proposal by Barbara McMahon

Disclaimer: I received no compensation from the author or publisher for this honest review.


About the Book

Marriage by royal command!

Sara Kinsale is stunned to be thrown together with a prince of the desert, and even more so to find herself unbelievably attracted to the elusive Sheikh Kahrun bak Samin... Especially as she's indebted to the sheikh and it's only a matter of time before he demands to be repaid!

Kahrun soon names his price -- marriage! He needs a trophy wife, and Sara is already living under his roof. But will she be the sheikh's bride in name only -- or will her marriage duties be a little more intimate....?

Buy the Book

Here's what I'm giving it:

Rating: 4 stars

Here's why:

Sara is a woman trying to prove herself and Kahrun is a king with a problem. When two very determined individuals have a run-in, an explosion of feelings was inevitable.

Kahrun really was a man in command while Sara was still trying to figure herself out and suffers from some major insecurity issues when it comes to herself and her family.

Watching the two of them learn about the other and about love was a sweet and sometimes funny journey.

Would I recommend this book? Yes.

0 Comments on Kishaz Reading Corner: The Sheikh's Proposal by Barbara McMahon as of 5/23/2015 11:51:00 AM
Add a Comment
2. Feet, Go to Sleep - a review

Welcome to the final stop on the Barbara Bottner blog tour for her latest book, 
Feet, Go to Sleep, illustrated by Maggie Smith and published by Alfred A. Knopf.


Fiona has spent the day at the beach and now it's time for bed.
"Time to say good night," said Mama.
"I'm not ready!" said Fiona.
"You've had a long day.  You must be tired, from your head to your toes," said Mama.
"Maybe just a little tired...."

This may be a bedtime story, but Maggie Smith's bright illustrations are richly colored and full of life. 
"Toes, go to sleep!" said Fiona.
Toes were for gripping flip-flops on the way to the beach.
Toes were easy.  They went right to sleep."

The illustrations feature bright and bold depictions of Fiona's earlier daytime activities, while the pajama clad Fiona is contrasted in a smaller inset box, growing wearier with each page until she is finally and peacefully asleep against a backdrop of evening blue.  Feet, Go to Sleep is an attractive combination of enjoyable and practical.

Although I was traveling, and did not have time to submit interview questions to author Barbara Bottner, she was kind enough to answer one question for me.  As a Jersey Shore gal, I was curious if Feet, Go to Sleep is based on any particular beach - perhaps one of Ms. Bottner's favorites. Bottner enjoyed frequenting Jones Beach on Long Island as a teenager, however, the location of Fiona's activities are not based on any specific beach, In fact, the book's location was added after the first draft. I have actually (succesfully) used the relaxation technique in Feet, Go to Sleep many times, although I've never needed it after a day at the beach. For me, a day at the beach is a relaxation technique in itself.  Ah, that salt air!

Previous stops on the blog tour include:
Feet, Go to Sleep by Barbara Bottner
Blog Tour Schedule



My copy of Feet, Go to Sleep was provided by the publisher.

0 Comments on Feet, Go to Sleep - a review as of 5/21/2015 7:01:00 AM
Add a Comment
3. Review: World Gone By by Dennis Lehane

I have to admit I was a little thrown by Dennis Lehane’s last book in the Coughlin series, Live By Night. The Given Day is Lehane’s best book and when he wrote it  he said it was the first in a series which would follow multi-generations of a police family through Boston in the 20th […]

Add a Comment
4. Kishaz Reading Corner: Secret-Agent Sheik by Linda Winstead Jones

Disclaimer: I received no compensation from the author or publisher for this honest review.


About the Book

The future of his people rested on secondborn son Sheik Hassan Kamal's mission: infiltrate Rahman Oil and confirm that the company was a front for the terrorist group suspected of kidnapping the crown prince of Montebello. But his contacts had left out one important fact. The company CEO was a woman—the stunningly beautiful, seemingly innocent Elena Rahman. Courting Elena was the safest way to learn corporate secrets. But as passion between them raged, instant and hot, Hassan fought a losing battle against falling for the daughter of his country's deadly enemy....

Buy the Book

Here's what I'm giving it:

Rating: 4.5 stars

Here's why:

Elena is one of my favorite characters in this book. Not just because she is the main character, but because of her spunk, grit and determination to succeed in a man's world and because she took charge of her love life. She didn't let it lead her around.

She was powerful, intelligent yet knew when to let her inner woman out for a stroll. It was fun watching Sheik Hassan be confused, intrigued, and finally accepting Elena, flaws and all.

Would I recommend this book? Yes especially for those that like strong female heroines and the men who love them.

0 Comments on Kishaz Reading Corner: Secret-Agent Sheik by Linda Winstead Jones as of 5/11/2015 3:38:00 PM
Add a Comment
5. Kishaz Reading Corner: The Sheik & The Virgin Princess by Susan Mallery

Disclaimer: I received no compensation from the author or publisher for this honest review.


About the Book

When prim professor Zara Paxton ventures to distant Bahania, she wants only to find the father she'd never known. But her father turns out to be King Hassan of Bahania. The desert king promptly put his "princess" under the protection of a muscular, mesmerizing Sheik, who sets Zara's sense aflame, yet he refuses to quench the fire!

Steely security liaison Rafe Stryker scorns lasting love. But before he knows it, the bespectacled brunette sneaks into his heart, making him throb with the urge to taste her sweetness. Clearly, innocent Princess Zara wanted to be his woman, but taking her was tantamount to treason. Rafe knows the consequences, but even he can stand so much temptation.

Here's what I'm giving it:

Rating: 4 stars

Here's why:

Okay when I said I like it hot, I guess that included a certain desire to read desert-based stories. Handsome, rich sheiks anyone?

I went on a search at my local library for books with "sheik" and found several. Plus, my Kindle is about to have a nervous breakdown because of the books I've been snatching of late that have sheiks, billionaires and millionaires in them.

This was one of the ones I found at the local library (thank you so much for having it!) and I enjoyed it tremendously.

Rafe has closed off his heart and any desire to settle down in favor of his job and freedom. Zara is a nerd (yes!) who learns some unexpected truths about her parentage. When the two met it is anything but ideal but what emerges from the chance encounter is something spectacular.

Both characters were well-written and developed as were all the secondary characters who made this story come alive.

Would I recommend this book? Yes.

0 Comments on Kishaz Reading Corner: The Sheik & The Virgin Princess by Susan Mallery as of 5/8/2015 12:53:00 PM
Add a Comment
6. Mesmerized: How Ben Franklin Solved a Mystery that Baffled all of France - a review

You've heard the term mesmerized before, and you've likely heard of a blind study in medical research (in which study participants are unaware of whether they have been given a treatment or a placebo).  But do you know what these two terms have in common?  Benjamin Franklin!

Mesmerized: How Ben Franklin Solved a Mystery that Baffled all of France
Written by Mara Rockliff. Illustrated by Iacopo Bruno. Candlewick, 2015

When Benjamin Franklin arrived in France seeking support for the American cause, Paris was all abuzz about recent advances in science, but one man in particular was drawing much attention - Dr. Franz Mesmer.  Like the invisible gas that was recently proven to buoy giant passenger-carrying balloons when burned, Dr. Mesmer claimed that he, too, had discovered a powerful new invisible force.


Dr. Mesmer said this forced streamed from the stars and flowed into his wand.  When he stared into his patients' eyes and waved the wand, things happened. 

Women swooned.

Men sobbed.

Children fell down in fits.
Mesmer and his practitioners claimed to cure illnesses in this manner, but was is true?  Or was it quackery?  King Louis XVI wanted to know, and Benjamin Franklin was sent to find out.

Mesmerized is one of those wonderful books that combines history with science and humor.  Using the scientific method, Benjamin Franklin was able to deduce that Dr. Mesmer had indeed discovered something, but not the something he had claimed!

Delightfully humorous and informative illustrations, a section on the scientific method (Oh La La ... La Science!). and a list of source books and articles make Mesmerized a triple-play - science, humor, and history.  Go ahead, be mesmerized!


*This post also appears on the STEM Friday blog today


STEM Friday

It’s STEM Friday! (STEM is Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics)
See all of today's STEM-related posts at STEM Friday.




0 Comments on Mesmerized: How Ben Franklin Solved a Mystery that Baffled all of France - a review as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
7. A Thousand Pieces of You Book Review

Title: A Thousand Pieces of You Author: Claudia Gray Publisher: HarperTeen Publication Date: November 4, 2014 ISBN-13: 978-0062278968 368 pp. ARC provided by publisher A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray is the first in her new Firebird series, a rollicking, action-packed novel about love and revenge across parallel universes. Marguerite Caine is an artist in a family of scientists.

0 Comments on A Thousand Pieces of You Book Review as of 5/3/2015 10:14:00 PM
Add a Comment
8. Review: A God In Ruins by Kate Akinson

My first impulse after starting this book was that I had to go back and read Life After Life again. Kate Atkinson has written an extraordinary companion novel to her previous masterpiece returning us to the world of the Todd family and Fox Corner. This time to tell us Ursula’s brother Teddy’s story. Life After […]

Add a Comment
9. Kishaz Reading Corner: Maid for the Billionaire by Ruth Cardello

Disclaimer: I received no compensation from the author or publisher for this honest review.


About the Book

Dominic Corisi knew instantly that Abigail Dartley was just the distraction he was looking for, especially since having her took a bit more persuading than he was used to. So when business forces him to fly to China, he decides to take her with him, but on his terms. No promises. No complications. Just sex.

Abby has always been the responsible one. She doesn’t believe in taking risks; especially when it comes to men - until she meets Dominic. He’s both infuriating and intoxicating, a heady combination. Their trip to China revives a long forgotten side of Abby, but also reveals a threat to bring down Dominic’s company. With no time to explain her actions, Abby must either influence the outcome of his latest venture and save his company or accept her role as his mistress and leave his fate to chance. Does she love him enough to risk losing him for good?

Here's what I'm giving it:

Rating: 4.5 stars

Here's why:

I've been feeling romantic lately and grabbed this book from one of my TBR lists. I read it in one sitting and enjoyed it so much that I've re-read it two more times since the first round.

Abby is my kind of girl who is spunky, responsible and family oriented. She cares deeply for others and tries to do the best for her younger sibling. Most times this means sacrificing the things she wants to provide stability for her sister and her niece.
Dominic, on the other hand, is an emotional black hole and tornado all rolled into one very chaotic and miserable package. When he meets Abby sparks fly and they are off to the races in a very intense, yet emotionally revealing, character-driven storyline that kept me riveted.
Would I recommend this book? Yes!



DON'T MISS THE OTHER BOOKS IN THIS SERIES

0 Comments on Kishaz Reading Corner: Maid for the Billionaire by Ruth Cardello as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
10. Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2015: April


Disclaimer: I received no compensation from the author, Netgalley or the publisher for this honest review.

About the Book

Ruled by duty…driven by desire!

A king amongst men, Sheikh Zafir cannot allow emotion or feelings to colour his judgement.  His carnal desires must be curbed for the sake of peace in his kingdom.  But his control is tested by the feisty Fern Davenport; Zafir must have her.  

Innocent Fern Davenport tries to resist the Sheikh’s skilful seduction – she knows that he could never marry her. But under the blistering sun an incendiary thirst awakes and one incredible night results in a very lasting consequence.

Now this Sheikh must claim his heir and his bride!

Buy the Book


Here's what I'm giving it:

Rating: 3.5 stars

Here's why:

There were some hot moments and there were some okay moments. Zafir definitely was very alpha male and Fern was meek but not so meek that she wasn't able to stand up for herself and the things she believed were right.

I did feel that the more worldly Zafir took advantage of Fern just a little bit because of her innocence but other than that one moment, I thought the story was fine.

Would I recommend this? Yes, it's a nice read.

0 Comments on Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2015: April as of 4/28/2015 10:33:00 PM
Add a Comment
11. Review: Ascendance by John Birmingham

The final instalment in the Dave Hooper trilogy brings events to an epic crescendo. Not for the first time John Birmingham lays waste to the streets of New York. The Dave, who has been struggling to come to terms with his recently acquired hero status, has learnt he may not be the special and unique snowflake […]

Add a Comment
12. Graceful - a review

When I reviewed The Last Present by Wendy Mass, I wrote the following:
The Last Present is the final book in the Willow Falls (or "birthday") series, realistic fiction with just the right amount of magic, courtesy of Angelina, the mysterious old woman with the duck-shaped birthmark. Angelina is seemingly the architect of all that occurs in Willow Falls, the town where nothing happens by coincidence and everything happens for a reason. Readers of the series will delight in revisiting their favorite characters - Leo, Amanda, Tara, Rory, David and all rest, as their stories intertwine and the story of Angelina is finally revealed. ... I'm sad to see it come to an end. It's been great fun!
Apparently, I wasn't the only one who was sorry to see the Willow Falls series come to an end. In the forward to Graceful (Scholastic, 2015), Wendy Mass writes that her readers let her know "IN NO UNCERTAIN TERMS" that they were not ready for the series to end.  Graceful (due out tomorrow) is a gift to her readers.

I think fans of the series will be happy with Graceful, in which Grace fills in (somewhat unwittingly) for the mysterious Angelina as the architect of all that occurs in Willow Falls.  This is a series about friendship and family and the cosmic connectedness of all things. It can best be described as magical realism, and it is a series that should be read sequentially.  Mass does her best to catch the reader up with previous occurrences, but the series is so intricately plotted that it is difficult to skip a book or read them out of order.

Willow Falls has been a great place to visit, but I think Ms. Mass is ready to move on now.  All of our questions have been answered and all loose ends are tied.  It's been fun!  Enjoy!

The Willow Falls series by Wendy Mass


My Advance Reader Copy was supplied by the publisher.

0 Comments on Graceful - a review as of 4/27/2015 7:33:00 AM
Add a Comment
13. Review: Pleasantville by Attica Locke

I used to love legal thrillers. They were the first crime books I got into when I was a teenager. There was a mystery but there was also an argument to made and refuted. Unlike other crime stories the legal thriller must get down to the bones of right and wrong, innocence and guilt. The […]

Add a Comment
14. Review: The Whites by Harry Brandt

It has been seven years since Richard Price last published a novel and it has been worth the wait. Writing under the transparent pseudonym Harry Brandt, Richard Price again demonstrates he truly is a master when it comes to crime and American life. Price delivers a multi-layered, slow-burning portrayal of friendship, justice and revenge and […]

Add a Comment
15. Review: Hush Hush by Laura Lippman

I am not a fan of long running crime series. While a recurring character can be like a familiar friend sometimes the longevity of a series means it falls into the realm of incredulity. Tess Monaghan was a character I fell in love with but was also quite happy when she was put on the […]

Add a Comment
16. Book Review and Giveaway of “Case for Grace for Kids”

by Sally Matheny

New York Times bestselling author, Lee Strobel, along with Focus on the Family’s Clubhouse editor, Jesse Florea have pulled together eight, true stories that exemplify grace.

Published by Zonderkidz, the target age stated for the book is for those age eight to twelve, but I think the book tends to lean towards the older youth. I’d definitely not limit it to twelve-year-olds. High school students will find the stories pack quite a punch.

Be sure to read at the end how you might win this book.

Not all of the stories are about kids. Some cover the experiences of college students and older adults. But they all show grace through various forms—from receiving it to learning how to give it.

Read more »

0 Comments on Book Review and Giveaway of “Case for Grace for Kids” as of 4/19/2015 9:21:00 PM
Add a Comment
17. Sold Audiobook Review

Title: Sold Author: Patricia McCormick Narrated by: Justine Eyre Publisher: Tantor Audio Publication Date: November 26, 2012 Listening copy via Sync Sold by Patricia McCormick was a National Book Award finalist, a lyrical, heartbreaking story about Lakshmi, a thirteen-year-old girl who is sold by her stepfather into the sex trade. Justine Eyre does a phenomenal job narrating Lakshmi's story,

0 Comments on Sold Audiobook Review as of 4/19/2015 3:09:00 PM
Add a Comment
18. A woman’s journey in Kashmiri politics

Nyla Ali Khan’s recent book The Life of a Kashmiri Woman: Dialectic of Resistance and Accommodation, though primarily a biography of her grandmother Akbar Jehan, promises to be much more than that. It is also a narration of the story of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah, the charismatic political leader who is still recognized as the greatest political leader that Kashmir ever produced.

The post A woman’s journey in Kashmiri politics appeared first on OUPblog.

0 Comments on A woman’s journey in Kashmiri politics as of 4/19/2015 7:09:00 AM
Add a Comment
19. Book review and giveaway- Delete by Kim Curran

Today, Faber Academy and I are kicking off the blog tour for Kim Curran's DELETE! It's had a bit of trouble getting out, due to the closure of Strange Chemistry, but it's coming and it's having a blog tour! 


Title:   Delete

Author:  Kim Curran
Series:    Shift #3
Published:   31 March 2015 by Xist Publishing
Length:  230 pages
Source: Strange Chemistry ARC
Other info: I reviewed Shift and Control and really enjoyed them! I’ve also had Kim over to talk about shifting in real life, and about her other book, Glaze (which I also reviewed).
Summary : The country is at war. Beset by enemies within and without. And all because of the decisions changed by one boy, Scott Tyler. In this ravaged alternative reality, Scott hardly recognises himself. He's a war hero, a leader of a unit of Shifters and maybe the only one who can prevent the country's frail defences from crumbling.
But all Scott wants to do is find a way back to the world he knew, without losing the girl he loves. With every Shift he makes, Scott edges closer towards oblivion. With no one to trust – not even himself – how much is he willing to risk to get home?

Review: This is the end of a trilogy, so this review will contain spoilers for the first two books (and you really do need to read Shift and Control before this one). Following the end of Control, Scott finds he has shifted to a world where Britain is at war, and Scott is apparently the Commandant of ARES, or at least its present form, and  everything is completely different. However, unlike most Shifters whose realities change when they shift to accomodate for that shift and they accept that shift as being the one true reality, Scott remembers the more peaceful, less treacherous world, and he wants to get back.
I really enjoyed Shift and Control, and thus I was very excited to read this. When I did get to read Delete, I read it so quickly. I think if life didn’t get in my way, it would be a one-sit-read.
You know how I said Control put the plot on a larger scale to Shift? It’s happened again. Majorly. Again.
I loved the different sides of the characters we got to know. Frankie, Aubrey, and Katie  were all changed but also still them, and Scott...woah. in this world, Scott’s personality is rather different to the one he remembers having, and I loved seeing him struggle with what he remembers, what he thinks he is, what what he has to do in this world.  So much character development.
The plot progressed well. It’s fast, but there are also quieter moments. Especially between Aubrey and Scott as  he tries to find the differences between the past Aubrey and the one now. .
I did have mixed feelings about the end. Initially I really disliked it, but after a little time, I realised how wonderful it was because Scott has learnt things and might be able to make things better and maybe it isn’t as bad an ending as I thought.

Overall:  Strength 5 tea to a brilliant ending to an action packed series examining decisions and their consequences.



Also, there's a tourwide giveaway happening to win all three Shift books. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

0 Comments on Book review and giveaway- Delete by Kim Curran as of 3/30/2015 4:29:00 AM
Add a Comment
20. The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Orion, 2015


Mare Barrow lives in a world divided between the wealthy (the Silvers) and the poor (The Reds). Her days consist of pick-pocketing to help her family survive.  Her father, a veteran of the war, cannot help so she and her sister take on work, either legal or illegal, to supply what little food and electricity they can.


The lives between the Silvers and the Reds run in completely separate veins.  Mare, her family, Kilorn (her best friend), and everyone else living in poverty in the Stilts are Reds.  They have nothing special about them except to ensure Silvers' lives of leisure.  The blood that runs through their them is even mundane...red. 

Silvers, on the other hand, not only have money and power, but are also gifted with extraordinary abilities.  Some can manipulate water, other can read your minds, still others are strong enough to crush rock with their bare hands.  There are fire starters, swifts, greeneys, and stoneskins, to name a few, and ever Silver is not only gifted with an ability, but their blood also runs silver, a beautiful and rich color.

Life in the Stilts is about to get worse for Mare Barrow's family.  When her sister can no longer work, Mare goes into full mode pick-pocketing.  Her best friend Kilorn, whom Mare has known since childhood, is in danger of being conscripted to fight in a battle between the Lakelanders and the Norta, which has lasted decades and decades.  His leaving is tearing at Mare, and she'll do anything to stop this from happening.

One fateful night will forever change the destiny of not only Mare, but her family's and Kilorn's as well.  Once a roamer of the streets, Mare is now at the Silvers monarchy's summer palace to serve and it's there that she unleashes a power unlike anything ever seen. But how can a Red have the abilities of a Silver?

Mare's life becomes a whirlwind where she now needs to balance two opposing sides - first as a newly formed future princess and pawn to a crown prince and secondly, as part of a hidden renegade group of Reds wanting to take down the hierarchy. But which life will she fight hardest for and whose trust will turn out to be a lie?


This is a novel that fantasy readers have been waiting for.  From the land where Reds and Silvers live to the individual powers displayed, to the deep and cunning nature of the renegades, Aveyard has created a sweeping fantasy that enchants and intrigues the reader to keep trying to figure out the twists, plots, schemes and relationships it presents.  Mare is a strong main character and the two characters vying for her attention in different ways create a polarity in personality that makes this book work.  The only thing missing is a map of this new world Aveyard has created, but those with enough fantastical imagination can create one of their own easily through the richness of the setting written in this new fanasty for YA.  Highly recommended for JH/HS

0 Comments on The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
21. Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge


Amulet Books, May 2015

Triss has woken up, not really knowing what happened before.  She vaguely remembers who she is, where she’s from, or who her family is.  Triss is also afraid.  She sees the dolls she’s always loved since childhood, watching her as she moves around the room, calling to her.  Is it her mind playing tricks on her or is it really happening?  All she knows is she’s ravenously hungry…

When the Crescents arrive home after their fatal holiday, they also begin to notice changes in their beloved daughter.  She’s eating everything set before her as well as everything in the pantry.  She begins to snoop on her parents’ conversation instead of being the docile and obedient daughter she once was.  The only thing that hasn’t changed is her little sister’s utter contempt and hatred for her. 

Triss begins to notice changes in herself she desperately tries to hide.  Leaves fall from her hair and dirt ends up in her bed and nightgown.  She’s eaten some of the dolls in the room and has even gone outside to devour the rotten apples no longer clinging to the trees.  These slow changes come to fruition when she realizes exactly who she is…and she’s not Triss.

Pen, her little sister, has been in contact with the Architect, a dark man who is handsomely disguised, driving a beautifully menacing black Daimler.  He’s the one who had the power to bring Triss to life and trade her for the real Triss.  He also isn’t finished with the havoc he wants to reap on Piers Crescent and him family for the binding agreement Piers made with him.  Something dark and personal…  Triss realizes she needs to help not only stop to the Architect and the Besiders from hurting the real Triss, but also from hurting her as well. 

Set in the backdrop of England after World War I, the reader will get completely lost is the magical realism Hardinge writes.  You’ll meet characters like Violet, a girl who loves jazz and rides a motorcycle but always is running from the winter she brings to Mr. Grace, a tailor who wields his scissors with talent along with the beautiful tea cakes he sets before his guests to the family dynamics of the Crescents, who don’t like change in a world on the tip of tremendous transformation.    Hardinge takes everything from a magical period in history and blends it with the magic in the book portrayed from the sympathetic Triss to the ruthlessness of the Architect to the strange creatures called the Besiders who live within the bridges and buildings of the city.  EXCELLENT read and highly recommended for JH/HS.

0 Comments on Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge as of 4/10/2015 9:58:00 AM
Add a Comment
22. Review – Nobody Is Ever Missing by Catherine Lacey

I grabbed this book solely on the back of a tweet from Joss Whedon but it then languished in my TBR pile for months. With the book finally being released in Australia I thought it was time to pick it up and was immediately sucked in. Catherine Lacey’s writing style is electrifying. She skillfully balances […]

Add a Comment
23. K is for Katrina and Winter by Nancy Stewart - A to Z 2015 Challenge

<!--[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-US JA X-NONE <![endif]-->


Title:                           Katrina and Winter: Partners in Courage
Written by:                 Nancy Stewart
Hard cover:                 26 pages
Ages:                           8-12
Publisher:                    Guardian Angel Publishing, Inc.
Hard cover ISBN 13:  9781616332426
Published:                   April 2012
Pages:                          26
Print Price:                  $19.94


Connection between living creatures is essential to our soul and well being. Love, understanding, empathy, and a purpose for one’s life certainly helps a person flourish; especially in the face of adversity.

Meet Katrina Simpkins, a special young lady, who strives to be “so called normal” but because of her prosthesis leg she is anything but. That is until the day she meets Winter, a tailless dolphin who resides at the Clearwater Marine Aquarium. From the moment Katrina and Winter meet there is an instant bond, which neither time nor distance can break. Inspired by Winter’s own adversity, Katrina’s life is transformed into triumphs to be celebrated.
Visit with Katrina Simpkins and Winter the dolphin in this heartwarming and awe inspiring true life story of how acceptance and love exceeds all.

Visit with Amazon best-selling and award-winning author, Nancy Stewart to learn more about her illustrious writing career and background bringing her passions full circle www.nancystewartbooks.com and www.nancystewartbooks.blogspot.com.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Best wishes,
Donna M. McDine
Multi Award-winning Children's Author

Ignite curiosity in your child through reading!

Connect with

A Sandy Grave ~ January 2014 ~ Guardian Angel Publishing, Inc. ~ 2014 Purple Dragonfly 1st Place Picture Books 6+, Story Monster Approved, Beach Book Festival Honorable Mention 2014, Reader's Favorite Five Star Review

Powder Monkey ~ May 2013 ~ Guardian Angel Publishing, Inc. ~ Story Monster Approved and Reader's Favorite Five Star Review

Hockey Agony ~ January 2013 ~ Guardian Angel Publishing, Inc. ~ New England Book Festival Honorable Mention 2014, Story Monster Approved and Reader's Favorite Five Star Review

The Golden Pathway ~ August 2010 ~ Guardian Angel Publishing, Inc. ~ Literary Classics Silver Award and Seal of Approval, Readers Favorite 2012 International Book Awards Honorable Mention and Dan Poynter's Global e-Book Awards Finalist

0 Comments on K is for Katrina and Winter by Nancy Stewart - A to Z 2015 Challenge as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
24. Who Was Harriet Beecher Stowe? a review

I have to admit, that Who Was Harriet Beecher Stowe? is the first I've read in the Who Was ... ? series.  When I first began receiving them a year or so ago, I thought that kids would be turned off by the caricature cover art.  I was wrong.  They have been quite popular for biography assignments. One reason is because Grosset & Dunlap (Penguin) was smart enough to make them each about 100 pages long.  (Teachers, I do wish you would be less strict with page counts, particularly in nonfiction.  Kids miss out on a lot of great books because they're trying to reach that magic number.)

In any case, I am pleased to see that the latest entry into the Who Was? series is writer Harriet Beecher Stowe, best known for her book Uncle Tom's Cabin, or for being, as President Lincoln said,  "the little woman who wrote the book that made this great war."

Rau, Dana Meachen. 2015. Who Was Harriet Beecher Stowe? New York: Grosset & Dunlap.

The first chapter bears the title of the book, "Who Was Harriet Beecher Stowe?" and gives a very brief synopsis of her life and its impact on history.  Other chapters elaborate on her personal life and her book, Uncle Tom's Cabin.  Today's young readers should find it fascinating that in an age before telephones, radios, televisions and computers, the publication of this one book made Harriet Beecher Stowe a wealthy and well-known celebrity in the U.S. and Europe, and it helped bring about the end of slavery by changing public opinion.

The book is illustrated with black and white drawings, and also contains several double-spread illustrations featuring background information that is necessary to gain an understanding of the era. These inset illustrations explain The Famous Beecher Family, The Underground Railroad, The Congregational Church, and Frederick Douglass.

The story of Harriet Beecher Stowe is a perfect illustration of the power of the pen. Hopefully, it will inspire young readers to seek out a copy of Uncle Tom's Cabin in the future.

Rounding out the book are time lines and a bibliography.

Who Was Harriet Beecher Stowe? will be on a shelf near you on 4/21/15. My copy was provided by the publisher.


Following on the heels of the Who Was... series' popularity, there is a  What Was ... series and now, a Where Is... series.  Details on all three series may be found on the publisher's site.

Learn more about Harriet Beecher Stowe at the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center.  If you've never read Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe, there are numerous free copies available in various formats from Project Gutenberg.

Today is Nonfiction Monday.  Stop over to see all of today's reviews.


0 Comments on Who Was Harriet Beecher Stowe? a review as of 4/13/2015 9:06:00 AM
Add a Comment
25. Thoughts for a Thursday

I'm blogging at the ALSC blog today with a post on "Putting it all together" - books, technology, creative space, diversity, and kids.  Please hop over and check it out. 

In other news, if you haven't checked out the new lineup yet, SYNC will  be returning on May 7th.  As they do every summer, they will offer free downloads of classic books paired with current books with a similar theme.  Each week features a different pairing. Week #1 begins with Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier, paired with Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

And finally, here's a link to an audio book review that I wrote for AudioFile Magazine.  I don't think I ever posted it here. The Julian Chapter: A Wonder Story by R.J. Palacio, read by Mike Chamberlain.  Brilliance Audio, 2014. 

0 Comments on Thoughts for a Thursday as of 4/16/2015 9:05:00 AM
Add a Comment

View Next 25 Posts