What is JacketFlap

  • JacketFlap connects you to the work of more than 200,000 authors, illustrators, publishers and other creators of books for Children and Young Adults. The site is updated daily with information about every book, author, illustrator, and publisher in the children's / young adult book industry. Members include published authors and illustrators, librarians, agents, editors, publicists, booksellers, publishers and fans.
    Join now (it's free).

Sort Blog Posts

Sort Posts by:

  • in
    from   

Suggest a Blog

Enter a Blog's Feed URL below and click Submit:

Most Commented Posts

In the past 7 days

Recent Posts

(tagged with 'big sisters')

Recent Comments

JacketFlap Sponsors

Spread the word about books.
Put this Widget on your blog!
  • Powered by JacketFlap.com

Are you a book Publisher?
Learn about Widgets now!

Advertise on JacketFlap

MyJacketFlap Blogs

  • Login or Register for free to create your own customized page of blog posts from your favorite blogs. You can also add blogs by clicking the "Add to MyJacketFlap" links next to the blog name in each post.

Blog Posts by Date

Click days in this calendar to see posts by day or month
new posts in all blogs
Viewing: Blog Posts Tagged with: big sisters, Most Recent at Top [Help]
Results 1 - 3 of 3
1. Big Sisters Are the Best by Fran Manushkin

 4 stars Bringing a new baby into the home is a time of s miles and smells, hugs and kisses. Author Fran Manushkin celebrates this special milestone with a sweet story that shows that there is plenty of love for everyone, big sister and all. This cute little story can help an older sibling understand [...]

Add a Comment
2. Books for new big brothers and sisters

The arrival of a  new baby brother or sister is a momentous occassion in the life of a family.

Bringing Asha HomeBringing Asha Home by Uma Krishnaswami, illustrations by Jamel Akib. Lee&Low, 2006.

Uma  Krishnaswami follows a family through the process of adopting a child from India as seen through the eyes of the seven year old, Arun.  He wants his new sister, Asha to join their family as soon as possible.  Arun  is frustrated by delays from paperwork and government forms.  Her room is ready and the family shares photos of the baby on her birthday which they celebrate from afar. 

When Arun's father is finally allowed to fly to India to bring Asha home, he takes along a special paper airplane from Arun.  When the family unites at the airport, Asha is wearing a rakhi which is a bracelet worn on the holiday of Rakhi which celebrates the special bonds between brothers and sisters.  


Ten Days and Nine Nights: An Adoption StoryTen days and nine nights: an adoption story by Yumi Heo. Schwartz&Wade, 2009

The big sister-to-be says goodbye to her mother at the airport and counts down the days until her mother returns with her new baby sister.  She helps her grandfather redecorate the baby's room,  her grandmother sews a pink dress that matches hers, she scrubs her teddy bear to place in the new crib that her daddy puts together.  As she marks the days, we see what her mother is doing in Korea, meeting officials, visiting the children's home, holding the new baby, and then, traveling on the

0 Comments on Books for new big brothers and sisters as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
3. Lazy Little Loafers

I always give a little laugh as I walk through the hallways in my school and overhear 2nd graders reminiscing about what it was like to be in the 4s. How they yearn for rest time now. (Mind you when they were 4, you couldn't pay them to stay on their mats!) Lazy Little Loafers has captured the nostalgia of the older child and brought in some snark for good measure.

"Here's a question for you: Why don't more babies work?"

Really. Why don't they?

Our unnamed protagonist who is busily dragging her HUGE backpack filled with work, is trying to figure this out. There are lots of jobs...there are lots of babies...could it be that babies are simply lazy? Babies certainly look lazy. They are wheeled everywhere in their fancy strollers, they eat snacks and roll around. It seems like the hardest work they do is trying to walk!

Illustrator G. Brian Karas' babies are hilarious as they stick out their tongues, suck their thumbs and cavort in the park. This may not be the picture book for everyone, but older kids who appreciate sarcasm will certainly eat it up! I think my readers who loved A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever, and Chowder will love Susan Orlean's Lazy Little Loafers.

0 Comments on Lazy Little Loafers as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment