What is JacketFlap

  • JacketFlap connects you to the work of more than 200,000 authors, illustrators, publishers and other creators of books for Children and Young Adults. The site is updated daily with information about every book, author, illustrator, and publisher in the children's / young adult book industry. Members include published authors and illustrators, librarians, agents, editors, publicists, booksellers, publishers and fans.
    Join now (it's free).

Sort Blog Posts

Sort Posts by:

  • in
    from   

Suggest a Blog

Enter a Blog's Feed URL below and click Submit:

Most Commented Posts

In the past 7 days

Recent Posts

(from the Reviews category)

JacketFlap Sponsors

Spread the word about books.
Put this Widget on your blog!
  • Powered by JacketFlap.com

Are you a book Publisher?
Learn about Widgets now!

Advertise on JacketFlap

MyJacketFlap Blogs

  • Login or Register for free to create your own customized page of blog posts from your favorite blogs. You can also add blogs by clicking the "Add to MyJacketFlap" links next to the blog name in each post.

Reviews Category Blogs

Blog Posts by Date

Click days in this calendar to see posts by day or month
new posts in all blogs
Viewing: Blog Posts from the Reviews category, Most Recent at Top [Help]
Results 1 - 25 of 144,503
1. Greetings from Hogwarts

This week me, my family, and my friend Jenae are hanging out at Universal Studios Orlando for the Harry Potter Celebration. It has been an absolutely amazing experience. This is my third time to HP world, but my first time going to Diagon Alley, and let me just tell you IT IS INCREDIBLE!! Riding the Hogwarts Express was a moment I can't even describe. The Gringotts ride is probably my favorite

0 Comments on Greetings from Hogwarts as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
2. Library Loot: Fifth Trip in January

New Loot:
  • The Acts of King Arthur and His Noble Knights by John Steinbeck
  • The Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times by Jennifer Worth
  • Historical Romances: The Prince and the Pauper, A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc by Mark Twain
  • The Painted Bridges by Wendy Wallace
  • Jane Austen Cover to Cover: 200 Years of Classic Covers by Margaret C. Sullivan
  • Empire in Black and Gold by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • The Midwife's Tale by Sam Thomas 
Leftover Loot:
  • A Great and Glorious Adventure by Gordon Corrigan
  • The Upstairs Room by Johanna Reiss
  • Little Town on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • These Happy Golden Years by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • Bo at Iditarod Creek by Kirkpatrick Hill
  • Space Case by Stuart Gibbs
  • The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander
  • Socks by Beverly Cleary
  • The Cat in the Hat by Dr. Seuss
  • The Cat in the Hat Comes Back by Dr. Seuss
  • On Beyond Zebra by Dr. Seuss
  • Horton Hears a Who by Dr. Seuss
  • If I Ran the Circus by Dr. Seuss
  • A Girl from Yamhill: A Memoir by Beverly Cleary
  • My Own Two Feet: A Memoir by Beverly Cleary
  • The Big Over Easy by Jasper Fforde
  • The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde
  • Wars of the Roses: Stormbird by Conn Iggulden
  • The Foundry's Edge by Cam Baity & Benny Zelkowicz
  • Red Berries, White Clouds, Blue Sky by Sandra Dallas
  • Snow on the Tulips by Liz Tolsma
  • Out of the Easy by Ruta Septys
  • Devil at My Heels by Louis Zamperini

     Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.   

© 2015 Becky Laney of Becky's Book Reviews

0 Comments on Library Loot: Fifth Trip in January as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
3. PROJECT ALMANAC - Drive Through Movie Review

The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, are at it again with their review of the new time travel movie PROJECT ALMANAC. 

If you could time travel, where would you go? 

Did you see PROJECT ALMANAC? Do you agree or disagree with the Nerd Riders?

 

 


Read More

0 Comments on PROJECT ALMANAC - Drive Through Movie Review as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
4. "I Just Do NOT Want To Sort Through This Box!"

And with those words....I sorted through the box.

Go figure.

Papers, journals....hello....a piece of artwork?

Wow.  It was the original, pre-Letraset lettering, 1986 Black Tower ad that I thought had been lost years ago.  Featured are Wildmane, Runestone (the flying guy with the big moustache if you have never -WHAT?!- read a Black Tower book before) and to their rear, Team Nippon's own Red Dragon (when Black Tower had a super hero group).

You see -you can make surprise finds!


Add a Comment
5. Best New Kids Stories | February 2015

If you're hooked on Kid President then this month is your month for new release kids books. This month's selection of best new kids books includes Kid President's Guide to Being Awesome and Richelle Mead's conclusion to the Bloodlines series.

Add a Comment
6. Re-Post: Dear Committee Member

(This post was orignially published in January 2014, but I think it's fitting that I have friends serving on the award committees this year and I want them to read this encouragement once again and know it's for them too!)

Dear Committee Member-

On the eve of the youth media awards and your committee announcements, I offer you some words of advice from someone who has been there before.

Your choices are amazing. You have done a fantastic job and worked the hardest you have ever worked over the past year. You have read, and re-read, and re-read yet again, taken notes, analyzed, and discussed titles in more depth than you ever thought possible. Your hard work is appreciated.

When the announcement happens and your choices are known, just remember that your titles are amazing. You know why you honored the books you did and now you get to share those amazing titles with the world. You get to watch as others read them and discuss them and discover the intricacies in the plot, setting, characters, and voice that you did. Be proud that you get to share these titles with readers everywhere. Be proud that you have honored an author for their incredible work. Be proud that you get to highlight literary excellence in children's and young adult literature.

Be happy with your choices and don't listen to any naysayers. They don't know these titles as well as you and your fellow committee members. Remember it's not about popularity. That popular mock favorite that you didn't honor? It's OK. The obscure title that surprised everyone? It's OK. The title that everyone has mixed opinions on? It's OK. No matter what you choose, your titles are worth reading, worth knowing, and worth sharing. It doesn't matter if the honored titles don't match everyone's expectations-you know why your books were honored and be proud of giving these books a chance to shine. Feel good about sharing these fantastic titles with readers everywhere and giving them books to discover (or re-discover).

Understand that you just undertook a year of immense critical reading and it's OK to take a break from reading. Your work was exhausting and you deserve a chance to step away from books and not read for awhile. It doesn't make you a bad librarian or a bad reader-you deserve a break. Come back to reading when you're ready-and read something you want to read and find fun. And don't be surprised if the way you read has forever changed-you'll find yourself reading critically, but you can also give yourself a break and read for fun-and sometimes those things will intertwine.

Feel good about the work you did and be proud of your committee. Seek out your titles in a bookstore and library and feel proud when you see that shiny sticker placed on the cover.  Be excited when you get to booktalk one of your titles and share it with a reader. And share away-that's one of the best parts of committee work-sharing your titles with others and getting them to read the books you worked hard to honor.

Thank you for your amazing year of reading and re-reading. Thank you for taking the time to discuss titles with your fellow committee member. Thank you for working hard to shine a light on great titles and honoring the best children's and young adult literature has to offer. Thank you for your amazing list of titles and congrats on a job well done! We're all cheering you on!

Now sit back and enjoy celebrating your hard work over the next year!


0 Comments on Re-Post: Dear Committee Member as of 1/31/2015 9:39:00 AM
Add a Comment
7. Giveaway: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson (US Only)

FIREFIGHT

Book 2 in The Reckoners Series

by Brandon Sanderson

Released on January 6th

 

ABOUT FIREFIGHT

Brandon Sanderson is back with a vengeance in FIREFIGHT, the follow up to the #1 New York Times bestselling Steelheart. In the book that Kirkus Reviews is calling a “rare middle volume that keeps the throttle open,” Sanderson takes readers on another a thrill ride and “presents a Marvel Comics-style mix of violently destructive battles, fabulous feats and ongoing inner wrestling over morality and identity.”

David Charleston still can’t believe it. Steelheart is dead, and he died by David’s own hand. Even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic, but the invincible has fallen and now Newcago is free. Despite attaining revenge for the murder of his father and living his dream as a team member of the most elite Reckoners cell, David finds he has more questions than ever before, and he won’t find the answers in his home city.

Babylon Restored, the city formerly known as Manhattan, could hold the key. Ruled by the mysterious and ambivalent High Epic Regalia, Babylon Restored is a place flooded with water and painted in neon, where the inhabitants spend most of their days lounging and nights partying. David can’t seem to understand the complacency of the city and its residents, but what he does understand is that being positioned here, risky as it may be, could lead him to the answers he so desperately seeks. Because there is an emptiness in him, one left behind after killing Steelheart, that was filled unexpectedly by Firefight, who is just plain Megan to him. And David will stop at nothing to find a way to understand Epics and bring her back to him. Hopefully for good this time.

The second book in the Reckoners series and follow up to the highly acclaimed Steelheart, which Publishers Weekly called “an absolute page-turner,” FIREFIGHT is filled with spine-tingling adventure and heart-racing action that promises to satisfy fans both new and old.

 

READ AN EXCERPT!

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_SteelheartFirefightCovers.jpg

 

PRAISE & ACCOLADES FOR STEELHEART


·         #1 New York Times Best seller

·         IRA Young Adults

·         ALA-YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults

·         ALA-YALSA Teens Top Ten

·         Amazon Best Book of the Year

« “Sanderson has written a riveting dystopian adventure novel . . . Snappy dialogue, bizarre plot twists, high intensity action, and a touch of mystery and romance; it’s a formula that sucks readers into the prologue, slings them through on tension-filled encounter after the other, and then . . . leaves them panting for the sequel.” —Booklist, starred

"Sanderson's whiz-bang imaginings, and a fully realized sense of danger (the brutal opening scene alone will hook many) make this an absolute page-turner." —Publishers Weekly

"Perfect for genre fans who love exciting adventure stories with surprising plot twists. Readers will be rooting for David." —School Library Journal

“Unfortunately for my ego, Steelheart is another win for Sanderson, proving that he’s not a brilliant writer of epic fantasy, he’s simply a brilliant writer. Period.”  —Patrick Rothfuss, author of the New York Times bestseller The Name of the Wind

“Fantastic! The suspense is relentless and the climax explosive, with a resolution that I’ll be thinking about for a long time.” —James Dashner, New York Times bestselling author of the Maze Runner series

"A tense, fast-paced adventure. Br andon Sanderson is one of the best fantasy sci-fi writers working today.” —Christopher Paolini, author of the New York Times and USA Today bestseller Eragon

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_bs.jpgABOUT THE AUTHOR

BRANDON SANDERSON is the author of the internationally bestselling Mistborn trilogy. In 2007, he was chosen to complete Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time series following the author’s death.&nb sp; The concluding book in that series, A Memory of Light, was released on January 8, 2013, and debuted at #1 on the New York Times Hardcover Fiction List., just as his two previous Wheel of Time books had done.  His work has been published in over 25 languages and his books have sold millions of copies worldwide. He lives and writes in Utah. Visit him at BrandonSanderson.com or connect with him on Twitter @BrandSanderson.

 

 

 

 

LEARN MORE

Visit the author online at his Website and Twitter.

When sharing on social, please use hashtags:

#Steelheart #Firefight

#ForgetNothing

 

GIVEAWAY
 

THREE winners will each win copies of Brandon Sanderson’s Steelheart and Firefight for an epic reading experience. US only.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30-60 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What was Manhattan renamed as in the series?

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Read More

0 Comments on Giveaway: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson (US Only) as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
8. 2015 -Hey, It's Buy Black Tower Books Year. Honest.

 From Monday I will be running a good few adverts on CBO to promote Black Tower Comics & Books since this is, after all, my blog!

Also,  I need to start saving for my retirement!

So first off, today, here is the excellent Dark Night Detectives  by Ben R. Dilworth.  Makes Soylent Green and Blade Runner look like kiddy stories.

The Dark Night Detectives
Ben R. Dilworth
 Paperback
A4
Black & White
50 Pages
Price: £8.00
Its a world where if you stand up for what is right you'll be lucky if its just a beating you get. A world where people are starving (if poor) and the rich live in luxury. 
 
A world where you have to have birthing Rights. Where sacrificing someone to the Devil is acceptable -as long as they pay the wages. 
 
A world where if you DO NOT take that bribe you WILL be made an example of. 
 
Some of Ben Dilworth's most provoking and dark work in ages.

Add a Comment
9. 7-Imp’s 7 Kicks #417: FeaturingUp-and-Coming Illustrator, Molly Walsh

It’s the first Sunday of the month, which means I invite a student illustrator or recent grad to visit 7-Imp, and today I’ve got the latter. Molly Walsh graduated in 2013 from RISD, and she’s here today to share art and tell us a bit about herself.

Without further ado …

Molly: Hello! My name is Molly Walsh, and I am an illustrator living on Cape Cod. I graduated in 2013 with a degree in Illustration from Rhode Island School of Design.

 




 

I work by day as a designer at a gift company in Cape Cod and, by night, as a freelance illustrator. I love creating art for decoration, but my first love is telling stories, large or small, through my illustration. Inspiration for my illustrations could come from something as small as a little detail from a friend’s story to something as large as trying to sum up an entire concept or emotion in one image. My love of nature and goofy characters also have a way of creeping into the images I make.

 




 

I started working in my current style toward the end of my time at RISD. I had been making 3D sculptures as a way to compensate for my lack of confidence in my drawing skills. Sculpting somehow gave me a better understanding of shapes and lighting, and I began drawing and painting again to save time. (Funny how that works!)

 



 

One of my professors, Fred Lynch, was of great help to me settling into a style that suited my voice as an illustrator. I do most of my work in watercolor and gouache, though my surface design job has taught me a great deal about digital media, which I’ve started incorporating into my work.

 




 

My current sketchbook is full of doodles and sloppily-written ideas for future projects, both somewhat formed idea for series and comics, as well as notes about “great ideas” I’ve written myself while half asleep. (The other day I found the words “Gastronaut — astronaut with gas” written on one page.) Looking forward, I hope to find more opportunities to tell both my own stories, as well as the stories and ideas of others through freelance work for books and magazines. Illustration is a wonderful, exciting thing, and I hope to use this power for good!

 












 

All artwork here is reproduced by permission of Molly Walsh.

Note for any new readers: 7-Imp’s 7 Kicks is a weekly meeting ground for taking some time to reflect on Seven(ish) Exceptionally Fabulous, Beautiful, Interesting, Hilarious, or Otherwise Positive Noteworthy Things from the past week, whether book-related or not, that happened to you. New kickers are always welcome.

* * * Jules’ Kicks * * *

1) I love the characters in Molly’s work. Also I love: “Illustration is a wonderful, exciting thing, and I hope to use this power for good!” (P.S. The last illustration up there is from Ray Bradbury’s “All Summer in a Day,” which is something like the third or fourth illustration I’ve shared at 7-Imp from that story, which used to HAUNT me as a child. I’m starting a 7-Imp trend.)

2) Yesterday, we saw a stage adaptation at the Nashville Children’s Theatre of Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie stories. It was fun. Here’s a bit of what it was like:

3) I talked to a big group of second-graders at a school in Nashville this week about favorite 2014 picture books and Caldecott contenders, and it was a thing of beauty to hear their strong opinions. Those lucky kids have some great teachers and librarians.

4) Oh, and the Twitter chat this week with Metro Nashville School librarians was fun too.

5) Author-illustrator Lori Nichols is going to come have breakfast at 7-Imp when life slows down and sent this preview of us in the meantime:

6) It’s neat to see friends’ photos on Facebook from ALA Midwinter.

7) Speaking of kick #2, my New Year’s resolution (though I don’t usually do resolutions) was to see more live theatre, so hey, I’m not doing too badly.

What are YOUR kicks this week?

4 Comments on 7-Imp’s 7 Kicks #417: FeaturingUp-and-Coming Illustrator, Molly Walsh, last added: 2/1/2015
Display Comments Add a Comment
10. Author Platforms

Does every author need to have a platform, and what is a platform anyway?

https://alaynekaychristian.wordpress.com/2014/12/13/julie-hedlund-busts-myths-about-author-platforms/

0 Comments on Author Platforms as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
11. Meet Kate Shackleton

Dying in the Wool. (Kate Shackleton #1) Frances Brody. 2009/2012. Minotaur Books. 368 pages. [Source: Library]

Did I love Dying in the Wool? No, not really. I had hoped to love it since it's a cozy mystery set in England in the 1920s. But I merely liked it instead of LOVING it.

The novel introduces the private detective, Kate Shackleton. She's a widow; her husband was a soldier who died during the war. Since the war, she's helped--usually without a fee--people find out what happened to their missing loved ones. Her other hobby is photography.

In Dying in the Wool, Kate Shackleton has her first paying case to solve. Her friend--her acquaintance--Tabitha is getting married in a month or two. Her father, a mill owner, disappeared in 1916. Some people strongly feel he's dead--likely suicide. Other people feel strongly that he's just ran off, probably with a woman to start a new life. Tabitha wants answers. Are the people in the village of Bridgestead keeping secrets? And can Kate and her ex-policeman partner (Jim Sykes) get people to talking? Will this case be easy or difficult? Is it dangerous to ask the wrong questions even after all these years?

I liked the setting just fine. I did. I liked Kate Shackleton and her partner, though I wish we'd had more of him. Would I have liked this one more if I'd found more of the characters likable? Perhaps. Probably. I really just felt this one had so many despicable characters in it. I hardly liked anyone! And it is NOT a clean read. I was hoping it would be a bit cleaner. That probably kept me from loving this one too.

Medal for Murder. (Kate Shackleton #2) Frances Brody. 2010/2013. Minotaur Books. 432 pages. [Source: Library]

Did I love Medal for Murder? I think maybe I did. At the very least I liked it so much more than the first book in the series. (I think I might have not been in the right and proper mood to enjoy/appreciate Dying in the Wool.)

Kate Shackleton and Jim Sykes have been asked by a pawn shop owner to investigate a robbery, and to discreetly visit the owners of the stolen (pawned) items. Sykes visits some. Kate visits some.

But Kate's passion isn't with finding missing things, it's finding missing persons. And within a day or two of her arrival, she does indeed have a person to track down.

I may have liked this one more because of its theatrical themes. The missing girl--woman, I should say--is an actress. She disappeared after the last performance of the play at the local theatre. Her disappearance wasn't the only strange and unhappy event that night....

I really did enjoy this one very much. It was a quick read! I really started to like the characters, especially Kate and Jim and Inspector Charles.

Murder in the Afternoon. (Kate Shackleton #3) Frances Brody. 2011/2014. Minotaur Books. 400 pages.  [Source: Library]

I am definitely enjoying this mystery series. I may have started the series hesitant, but, by the third book, it is love. I've enjoyed each book in the series a little bit more.

Mary Jane Armstrong comes to Kate Shackleton early one morning begging her to help find her missing husband. Her daughter, Harriet, had found him dead on Saturday evening. However, by the time she'd returned with an adult--the body was gone. NO ONE in their town/village had believed her. "She's just a girl after all...and everyone knows that girls make up stories for fun." That's the logic that Kate Shackleton is up against. Kate does believe Harriet's story. And though she has the mother's support--seemingly strong support--in the case, she's having a hard time of it since no one in the community wants to talk to her about the supposed crime.

But as readers can imagine, things are not as they appear. Danger remains so long as the murderer remains free.

This one is a nice addition to the series. Readers learn more about Kate's background. And Inspector Charles is definitely coming to be a love interest!

© 2015 Becky Laney of Becky's Book Reviews

0 Comments on Meet Kate Shackleton as of 2/1/2015 10:48:00 AM
Add a Comment
12. Week In Review: January 25-31

Station Eleven. Emily St. John Mandel. 2014. Knopf Doubleday. 352 pages. [Source: Library]
The Art of the English Murder. Lucy Worsley. 2014. Pegusus Books. 336 pages. [Source: Library]
The Case of the Velvet Claws. (Perry Mason #1) Erle Stanley Gardner. 1933. Random House. 215 pages. [Source: Bought]
The Worthing Saga. Orson Scott Card. 1990. Tor. 465 pages. [Source: Bought]
To Dream in the City of Sorrows. (Babylon 5: Book #9). Kathryn M. Drennan. Based on the series by J. Michael Straczynski. 1997. Random House. 352 pages.  [Source: Bought]
The Infinite Sea (Fifth Wave #2) Rick Yancey. 2014. Penguin. 320 pages. [Source: Library]
Brave New World. Aldous Huxley. 1932. 268 pages. [Source: Bought]
Lucy Maud Montgomery Short Stories: 1905-1906. Dodo Press. 260 pages. [Source: Bought]
Little Red's Riding 'Hood. Peter Stein. Illustrated by Chris Gall. 2015. [February 2015] Scholastic. 40 pages. [Source: Review copy]
McElligot's Pool. Dr. Seuss. 1947/1974. Random House. 64 pages. [Source: Library]
Board Book: Curious George's Crane. 2014. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 12 pages. [Source: Review copy]
Board Book: Curious George's Train. 2014. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 12 pages. [Source: Review copy]
Behold the King of Glory: A Narrative of the Life, Death, and Resurrection of Jesus Christ. Russ Ramsey. 2015. Crossway. 240 pages.
Last Words of Jesus. Stu Epperson. 2015. Worthy Inspired. 176 pages. [Source: Review copy]
Exalting Jesus in Matthew. (Christ Centered Exposition) David Platt. 2013. B&H. 400 pages. [Source: Review copy]
Living by the Book. Howard G. Hendricks and William D. Hendricks. 1991. Moody. 350 pages. [Source: Borrowed]

This week's recommendation(s):
Plenty of genre fiction reviewed this week.

For science fiction lovers, I recommend Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. I did enjoy it very much. I'm not sure I loved, loved, loved it. Only time will prove that one way or the other. I personally still love Worthing Saga more. But that could be because I've reread it four or five times!

Brave New World was a good read. I didn't "love" it. But I'm so glad I read it. If you enjoyed Fahrenheit 451 or The Giver, you should definitely seek this one out.

I would definitely recommend Erle Stanley Gardner's The Case of the Velvet Claws. This is the first Perry Mason mystery. It was just a fun read from start to finish.

© 2015 Becky Laney of Becky's Book Reviews

0 Comments on Week In Review: January 25-31 as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
13. ICYMI Aim Higher: Outgrow Old Goals and Set New Ones

Last week Tara, Betsy, Dana, Anna, Stacey and I wrote about the importance of having writing goals for your students: how to set them, how to keep track of them, how to make them visible, and how to make them a part of your daily classroom life. In cased you missed it, here's a round up of our posts.

Add a Comment
14. Curious George's Train (2014)

Board Book: Curious George's Train. 2014. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 12 pages. [Source: Review copy]

First sentence: Choo-choo! Choo-choo! The engine's pulling in. George is so excited for the train ride to begin!

Premise/Plot: George and one of his friends--a boy, not the man in the yellow hat--are going for a train ride. George is excited, of course. Don't expect this curious little monkey to get into trouble during the ride. It doesn't happen. He stays in his seat like a good little monkey. The text is simple; it rhymes. It's okay. Nothing special.

My thoughts: This was an okay book for me. I liked that this book is in the style of the original Curious George. And I do think that there's always, always a demand for more train books. This one works well enough for that need at least. The wheels on the front cover do spin a little. This book like Curious George's Crane features press-out pieces for children to play with.

© 2015 Becky Laney of Becky's Book Reviews

0 Comments on Curious George's Train (2014) as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
15. January Reflections

In January I reviewed 64 books.

Board Books:
  1. Curious George's Crane. 2014. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 12 pages. [Source: Review copy] 
  2. Curious George's Train. 2014. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 12 pages. [Source: Review copy]
Picture Books:
  1. Sleeping Cinderella and Other Princess Mix-Ups. Stephanie Clarkson. Illustrated by Brigette Barrager. 2015. [January 2015] Scholastic. 40 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  2. The Case for Loving: The Fight for Interracial Marriage. Selina Alko. Illustrated by Sean Qualls. 2015. [January 2015] Scholastic. 40 pages. [Source: Review copy] (Nonfiction)
  3. Glamourpuss. Sarah Weeks. Illustrated by David Small. 2015. [January 2015] Scholastic. 40 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  4. Millions of Cats. Wanda Gag. 1928. Penguin. 40 pages. [Source: Library]  
  5. And to Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street. Dr. Seuss. 1937/1964. Random House. 40 pages [Source: Library] 
  6. The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins. 1938/1965. Random House. 56 pages. [Source: Library] 
  7. The King's Stilts. Dr. Seuss. 1939/1967. Random House. 56 pages. [Source: Library]
  8. Horton Hatches An Egg. Dr. Seuss. 1940/1968. Random House. 64 pages. [Source: Library]
  9. McElligot's Pool. Dr. Seuss. 1947/1974. Random House. 64 pages. [Source: Library]
  10. Xander's Panda Party. Linda Sue Park. Illustrated by Matt Phelan. 2013. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 40 pages. [Source: Library]  
  11. Please, Mr. Panda. Steve Antony. 2015. [January 2015] Scholastic. 32 pages. [Source: Review copy] 
  12. Little Red's Riding 'Hood. Peter Stein. Illustrated by Chris Gall. 2015. [February 2015] Scholastic. 40 pages. [Source: Review copy]
Early Readers/Early Chapter Books:
  1. Rescue on the Oregon Trail. (Ranger in Time #1) Kate Messner. 2015. Scholastic. 144 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  2. Eva's Treetop Festival (Owl Diaries #1) Rebecca Elliott. 2015. Scholastic. 80 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  3. Big Bad Detective Agency. Bruce Hale. 2015. Scholastic. 128 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  4. Dory Fantasmagory. Abby Hanlon. 2014. Penguin. 160 pages. [Source: Library] 
Middle Grade:
  1. El Deafo. Cece Bell. 2014. Harry N. Abrams. 233 pages. [Source: Library] 
  2. Operation Bunny. Sally Gardner. Illustrated by David Roberts. 2014. Henry Holt. 192 pages. [Source: Library]  
  3. The War That Saved My Life. Kimberly Brubaker Bradley. 2015. Penguin. 320 pages. [Source: Library]
  4. The Red Pencil. Andrea Davis Pinkney. Illustrated by Shane Evans. 2014. Little, Brown. [Source: Library] 
  5. The Question of Miracles. Elana K. Arnold. 2015. HMH. 240 pages. [Source: Review copy] 
  6. Cartwheeling in Thunderstorms. Katherine Rundell. 2014. Simon & Schuster. 256 pages. [Source: Library] Mild spoilers.  
  7. The Perfect Place. Teresa E. Harris. HMH. 272 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  8. The Windy Hill. Cornelia Meigs. 1921. 210 pages. [Source: Bought]
  9. The Trumpeter of Krakow. Eric P. Kelly. 1928. Simon & Schuster. 208 pages. [Source: Library] 
  10. Chasing Freedom: The Life Journeys of Harriet Tubman and Susan B. Anthony Inspired by Historical Facts. Nikki Grimes. Illustrated by Michele Wood. 2015. [January 2015] Scholastic. 56 pages. [Source: Review copy] 
  11. The Paper Cowboy. Kristin Levine. 2014. Penguin. 352 pages. [Source: Library]  
  12. The Castle Behind Thorns. Merrie Haskell. 2014. HarperCollins. 336 pages. [Source: Library]
Young Adult:
  1. Audacity. Melanie Crowder. 2015. Penguin. 400 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  2. The Infinite Sea (Fifth Wave #2) Rick Yancey. 2014. Penguin. 320 pages. [Source: Library]
  3. This Side of Home. Renee Watson. 2015. Bloomsbury USA. 336 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  4. It's The End of the World As We Know It. Saci Lloyd. 2015. Hachette Books. 288 pages. [Source: Review copy]
Adult Fiction:
  1. Station Eleven. Emily St. John Mandel. 2014. Knopf Doubleday. 352 pages. [Source: Library] 
  2. The Case of the Velvet Claws. (Perry Mason #1) Erle Stanley Gardner. 1933. Random House. 215 pages. [Source: Bought] 
  3. Brave New World. Aldous Huxley. 1932. 268 pages. [Source: Bought] 
  4. The Worthing Saga. Orson Scott Card. 1990. Tor. 465 pages. [Source: Bought]  
  5. To Dream in the City of Sorrows. (Babylon 5: Book #9). Kathryn M. Drennan. Based on the series by J. Michael Straczynski. 1997. Random House. 352 pages.  [Source: Bought]
  6. Twelve Drummers Drumming. Father Christmas Mystery #1. C.C. Benison. 2011. Doubleday. 384 pages. [Source: Library]
  7. Eleven Piper Piping. Father Christmas Mystery #2. C.C. Benison. 2012. Delacorte. 474 pages. [Source: Library]
  8. Ten Lords A-Leaping. Father Christmas #3. C.C. Benison. 2013. Delacorte. 512 pages. [Source: Library]
  9. Their Eyes Were Watching God. Zora Neale Hurston. 1937. Harper Perennial Modern Classics. 256 pages. [Source: Bought]   
  10. Jezebel's Daughter. Wilkie Collins. 1880. 304 pages. [Source: Bought]
  11. Trifles. A Play in One Act. Susan Glaspell. 1916. 20 pages. [Source: Read online
  12. Lucy Maud Montgomery Short Stories: 1905-1906. Dodo Press. 260 pages. [Source: Bought]
Adult Nonfiction:
  1. The Art of the English Murder. Lucy Worsley. 2014. Pegusus Books. 336 pages. [Source: Library] 
  2. The Girl With The White Flag. Tomiko Higa. Translated by Dorothy Britton. 1989. 130 pages. [Source: Bought]
  3. In the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the USS Jeannette. Hampton Sides. 2014. 454 pages. [Source: Library]
Christian Fiction:
  1. Like a Flower in Bloom. Siri Mitchell. 2015. Bethany House. 384 pages. [Source: Review copy] 
  2. Remember the Lilies. (Women of Courage #3) Liz Tolsma. 2015. [February] Thomas Nelson. 352 pages. [Source: Review copy] 
  3. Love Gently Falling. Melody Carlson. 2015. Center Street. 192 pages. [Source: Review copy] 
  4. Lizzy & Jane. Katherine Reay. 2014. 339 pages. [Source: Bought] 
  5. The Bracelet. Dorothy Love. 2014. Thomas Nelson. 336 pages. [Source: Review copy
Christian Nonfiction: 
  1. Living As A Christian: Teachings from First Peter. A.W. Tozer. 2010. Regal. 224 pages. [Source: Bought]
  2. Weighed and Wanting Addresses on the Ten Commandments. D.L. Moody. 1898. The Bible Institute. 128 pages. [Source: Bought]
  3. Behold the King of Glory: A Narrative of the Life, Death, and Resurrection of Jesus Christ. Russ Ramsey. 2015. Crossway. 240 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  4. Exalting Jesus in Matthew. (Christ Centered Exposition) David Platt. 2013. B&H. 400 pages. [Source: Review copy]  
  5. Living by the Book. Howard G. Hendricks and William D. Hendricks. 1991. Moody. 350 pages. [Source: Borrowed]
  6. Last Words of Jesus. Stu Epperson. 2015. Worthy Inspired. 176 pages. [Source: Review copy] 
  7. Don't Give Up, Don't Give In. Lessons From An Extraordinary Life. Louis Zamperini and David Rensin. 2014. 272 pages. [Source: Library] 
  8. Autopsy of a Deceased Church: 12 Ways to Keep Yours Alive. Thom S. Rainer. 2014. B&H. 112 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  9. Meeting God in Mark. Rowan Williams. 2015. Westminster John Knox. 108 pages. [Source: Review copy]
  10. How To Worship Jesus Christ. Joseph S. Carroll. Foreword by John F. MacArthur, Jr. 1984/1991. Moody Publishers. 90 pages. [Source: Bought]

© 2015 Becky Laney of Becky's Book Reviews

0 Comments on January Reflections as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
16. 6 Tips Sebelum Anda Berwisata ke Kalimantan

<!--[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE <![endif]-->

Sebelum anda berwisata ke Kalimantan, cobalah untuk mendengarkan dan menyimak tips berwisata ke Kalimantan berikut ini.

6-tips-sebelum-anda-berwisata-ke-kalimantan
Ilustrasi Berlibur

Kalimantan adalah sebuah pulau yang sangat luas sehingga anda harus memiliki beberapa pengetahuan seputar objek wisata dan bagaimana berwisata ke Kalimantan agar anda bisa mempersiapkan segala sesuatunya dengan lebih baik.
Setiap daerah memiliki keunikan dan persiapan yang berbeda sebelum anda memulai perjalanan. Kalimantan yang memiliki daerah yang sangat luas dan memiliki provinsi-provinsi serta daerah-daerah yang dipisahkan oleh jalan yang cukup jauh dan melewati banyak hutan membuat anda harus ekstra dalam mempersiapkan segala sesuatunya.
Berikut adalah beberapa tips berwisata ke Kalimantan yang harus anda simak.
1.       Stamina
Hal pertama yang harus anda siapkan sebelum anda melakukan tour wisata di Kalimantan adalah stamina. stamina sangat penting karena perjalanan anda tidak akan dekat, melainkan sangat jauh. pulau Kalimantan yang luas menuntut stamina ekstra karena medan yang akan anda tempuh terkadang tidak semulus di Jawa atau di beberapa daerah seperti Bali. Selain itu, Kalimantan juga banyak memanfaatkan transportasi air sehingga anda harus terbiasa dengan hal tersebut.
2.       Tour guide
Bisa dipastikan bahwa objek wisata di Kalimantan jaraknya sangat jauh dan membutuhkan perjalanan yang tidak sebentar. oleh sebab itu, guide mutlak dibutuhkan apabila anda ingin pergi ke suatu tempat yang belum anda kenal. Biarkan tour guide membimbing anda dan dengarkanlah arahan yang diberikan olehnya. Karena beberapa wilayah Kalimantan cenderung berbahaya.
Transportasi air misalnya, beberapa sungai memiliki arus yang deras sehingga membutuhkan kehati-hatian ekstra. tidak hanya itu mungkin beberapa tempat juga yang akan anda datangi adalah tempat dimana terdapat banyak binatang buas dan lain sebagainya. Oleh karena itu, cobalah untuk mengenali daerah yang akan anda tuju terlebih dahulu dengan menggali informasi seputar objek wisata tersebut.
3.       Offroad
Kalimantan, tidak sama dengan pulau Jawa dan pulau Bali, jalan-jalan di pulau Kalimantan tidak sebaik jalan yang anda temukan di Pulau Jawa. Di beberapa wilayah Kalimantan, jalannya masih cukup memprihatinkan sehingga anda harus memiliki stamina dan persiapan ekstra. Jika anda berencana keluar kota, misalnya masuk ke wilayah kampung-kampung, maka anda membutuhkan mobil dengan kemampuan yang mumpuni untuk offroad. Selain itu, mungkin motor adalah alternatif kedua yang bisa anda gunakan selain mobil. Motor jenis trail sangat cocok apabila digunakan untuk berpetualang di Kalimantan.
4.       Sepatu boot
Jika anda ingin menjelajah di Kalimantan maka sepatu boot adalah perlengkapan yang harus anda bahwa karena Kalimantan banyak memiliki tanah gambut dan tanah liat. Pada musim hujan biasanya banyak jalan yang kondisinya tidak terlalu baik dan becek.
5.       Losion anti nyamuk
Lotion anti nyamuk tidak boleh anda lupakan jika anda berkunjung ke Kalimantan. Hutan yang masih banyak mengelilingi pulau Kalimantan adalah salah satu faktor mengapa nyamuk merupakan momok utama di tempat ini. Jika anda berencana berkunjung ke suatu tempat maka anda wajib membekali diri anda dengan lotion anti nyamuk.
6.       Cenderamata
Jika anda berkunjung ke suatu tempat, cinderamata adalah sebuah keharusan bukan?
Kalimantan timur memiliki ciri khas dan cendramata yang sedikit unik seperti mandau, kerajinan dari manik-manik, dan dan sumpit serta tatoo. Sedangkan jika anda berkunjung ke Kalimantan barat, di sana kemungkinan besar anda bisa membeli Replika Tugu Khatulistiwa, serta beberapa hiasan manik-manik. Kalimantan juga memiliki batik khas Kalimantan dengan corak khusus.

0 Comments on 6 Tips Sebelum Anda Berwisata ke Kalimantan as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
17. Curious George's Crane (2014)

Board Book: Curious George's Crane. 2014. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 12 pages. [Source: Review copy]

First sentence: One day out his window George looks and sees a bright shiny crane as high as the trees!

Premise/plot: The book is one of four in the "mini-movers-shaped" board book series starring Curious George. There's also a train, a firetruck, and a dump truck.  The arm of the crane is movable. But the wheels are not. The text is simple, as you'd expect, and features George investigating a construction site. What are they building? A playground!

My thoughts: Not particularly thrilling for adults to read. But for a construction-obsessed toddler, this one probably has some appeal. The book also has press-out pieces so kids can play construction on their own. I'm not sure if these pieces would really work and stand up to repeated use. 

© 2015 Becky Laney of Becky's Book Reviews

0 Comments on Curious George's Crane (2014) as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
18. Book Review-A Little in Love by Susan Fletcher

 
Title:  A Little in Love
Author:  Susan Fletcher
Series:   N/A
Published:  October 2014 by Chicken House Books
Length:  288  pages
Source:  Cheezyfeet Books
Summary :  As a young child Eponine never knew kindness, except once from her family's kitchen slave, Cosette. When at sixteen the girls' paths cross again and their circumstances are reversed, Eponine must decide what that friendship is worth, even though they've both fallen for the same boy. In the end, Eponine will sacrifice everything to keep true love alive.

Review: Eponine Thenadier lies in a Parisian street, seventeen years old, dying.  As she does so, she remembers how her life progressed in such a way from a spoilt childhood and years of cheating and stealing to taking a bullet for the boy she loves.
I wanted to read this because I have a love for the musical  of Les Miserables and an appreciation for the book (see here for my review). Eponine is one of my favourite characters because she has to stand up for herself and no one fights for her, and I was looking forwards to seeing a backstory for her.
It's interesting seeing the formative years through the eyes of Eponine. We know that her parents were abusive towards Cosette, but the extent they are to Eponine and sister Azelma in their treatment isn't one you think about when seeing or reading Les Mis.
I liked the fact that in little ways, Eponine attempts to redeem herself. Her development is very thorough and wonderful to watch. Sadly, I don't think any of the other characters got the same treatment, which would have been interesting to see.
I didn't like the fact that it randomly slips into French for a couple of words at a time. I don't mean where we need words like sou or Les Halles for nouns or specifically French things. it's just occasional phrases.  Oui. Excuzez-moi, mon pere. C'est un joli matin. It's just one of my little pet hates, if it's not a language that is foreign to the focaliser and the thing that is being said has a perfectly good English equivalent (yes, excuse me, father, it’s a pretty morning). We understand that Eponine is speaking and thinking in French, and the little random changes are noticable and get on my nerves.
The plot progresses gently.  It fills in the gaps of Hugo’s novel where the focus is on Cosette and Les Amis. At times, it drags, but my interest levels did stay up enough for me to not give up.
However,  my heart for Eponine. Fletcher does very well in making you empathise with her, and  Especially with the little quote from The Brick at the start, in both French and English- j'etais un peu amoureuse de vous . Please excuse me while I go cry.


Overall:  Stregth 3 tea. I really liked the idea and Eponine's development, but it lacked depth in other areas.





0 Comments on Book Review-A Little in Love by Susan Fletcher as of 1/31/2015 10:05:00 AM
Add a Comment
19. Now WHY Would So Many People Be Checking Out This Review? A Re-post:Titan Books:The Secret Service -Kinsman

The Secret Service - Kingsman

Millar & Vaughn
Art: Dave Gibbons
Full Colour
160 pp
US Trade Size
ISBN: 9781781167038
£9.99   
Available 1st April, 2014

http://titanbooks.com/the-secret-service-kingsman-6985/

Gary’s life is going nowhere. He lives in public housing with his mother and spends his nights carousing with his friends. But Gary’s Uncle Jack has taken a different path of glamour, danger and mystery. 

When Jack has to get his nephew out of trouble, their lives are going to intersect in a way neither of them could have foreseen. From Mark Millar (Kick-Ass) and Dave Gibbons (Watchmen).

Soon to be a blockbuster movie!

I would like to make it VERY clear that my garotting the postman for heavily shoving another book through the letter box had absolutely nothing to do with this book.
Firstly, despite what you might read, garotting takes a while and can be a bit noisy.  Cheese-wire is best. Quick and silent.  Nothing written on a blog can be used in evidence, right?
Now the book.....
Well, I saw "Mark Millar" and thought "swear swear swear pointless violence -same old!" The only thing that attracted me to the book was Dave Gibbons.  Most comic readers will only know Gibbons from the super hero comics though he is far, far more versatile.  He is also quite a nice man and has a good streak of humour in him.
So, we have a big time Secret Service uncle who recruits his nephew from the tough council estate -I think most readers might recognise similarities between the "rough area" depicted so well by Gibbons in the book to ones they know.
I know this was first published in Clint magazine (which I've never read) so a collected book is a wonderful thing, baby.  Titan Books have great production quality and when I received this one I thought I might be dismissive of it, even if Gibbons was involved. So?  Well, I browsed though it and then realised I was reading the book straight though...then going back to check things out again. 
Now, I generally browse through a book. Put it down and then look again later.  That I sat down and read it all in one go says a lot for the story and the great art and, I really cannot ignore him -the colour work of Angus McKie which is EXCELLENT.
I am giving away no spoilers.  I even had to select pages to ensure nothing gets given away. This is probably -remember it is only March- one of the best English language books I've received so far this year.  
VERY recommended.

Add a Comment
20. Actress Geraldine McEwan dies

BBC News Online

Geraldine McEwan  
 
Geraldine McEwan died following a stroke, her family said
 
Actress Geraldine McEwan, known for playing Agatha Christie sleuth Miss Marple on ITV, has died aged 82, her family have said.

She died on 30 January following a stroke at the end of October, her family said.

She appeared as Miss Marple from 2004 until 2009.

The Bafta award winner had a long and successful career in theatre, television and films.

Her son Greg and daughter Claudia said in a statement: "Following a stroke at the end of October and a period in hospital, Geraldine McEwan passed away peacefully on January 30.

"Her family would like to thank the staff at Charing Cross Hospital who cared for her incredibly well."

Actors she worked with during her career included Laurence Olivier and Kenneth Williams, and she won a Bafta TV award for best actress in 1991 for her role in Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit.


Geraldine McEwan as Marcella in Troy Kennedy Martin's exciting thriller "The Man Without Papers",  
 
She played Marcella in Troy Kennedy Martin's thriller The Man Without Papers in 1965.
 
 
Geraldine McEwan  
 
She also played Miss Rose Farnaby in the 1990s comedy series Mulberry

Tempus fugit

Add a Comment
21. Before Quatermass There Was.....Dene Vernon: Ghost Investigator!

... Though that job description was flexible.

Dene Vernon:The Thing Below

Dene Vernon:The Thing Below

W -Terry Hooper-Scharf   A -Gavin Stuart Ross
Paperback, 
A4
Black & White
53 Pages
Price: £8.00
Ships in 3–5 business days

http://www.lulu.com/shop/terry-hooper-scharf/dene-vernonthe-thing-below/paperback/product-21918919.html

Dene Vernon the first UK comic book investigator of the supernatural faces his greatest challenge as he investigates and confronts The Thing Below London. Classic British horror set in the ruins of blitzed London docks in 1949.

Dene Vernon was one of those unique characters from the Gerald Swan "Swan Comics" -created and drawn by Jock McCail.  Swan seemed to specialise, whether he realised it or not, in characters steeped in the supernatural -Krakos The Egyptian being one of the others.  Stories of the true ghost hunters -some VERY scary- used to make newspaper news in the old days.  Harry Price, Elliott O'Donnell and a selected few others were well know household names.   Vernon is of that ilk.

In his time he dealt with supernatural curses, horrifying hauntings and, later when the whole thing exploded into the public consciousness, flying saucers.

In 1996 I wrote a script that was intended for D. C. Thomson (let's not go there)  and then Egmont showed interest...and decided it didn't want to do comics -a policy it has stuck to in the UK.  So, ITV thought it might make a good TV series....deregulation of TV killed that.  The BBC....well, if they ever followed through on anything it was a miracle.

Gavin Stuart Ross had been in touch with me a long time before and eventually drew the Chung Ling Soo series of Victorian mystery comics (there is a collection you know).  I thought, perhaps, if I begged, Gavin might give Dene Vernon a try.  He did and so Dene Vernon: The Thing Below came into being.  Finally!

It has been said many times that "horror is best in black and white" and that is true.  I cherish my old Charlton horror/ghost comics and German Spuk Geschichten and Gespenster Geschichten but black and white horror is king.

Incidentally, though it does not mean you will have to buy it as all BTCG books are stand alone, in The Green Skies you will learn exactly why Vernon is recovering and "not quite the same" any more.  That's a teaser.

But Dene Vernon: The Thing Below is just for you horror fans -it even has a slight Quatermass feel to it. Don't believe me?  Buy a copy and see!

Add a Comment
22. Seuss on Saturday #5

McElligot's Pool. Dr. Seuss. 1947/1974. Random House. 64 pages. [Source: Library]

 First sentence:
"Young man," laughed the farmer, "You're sort of a fool! You'll never catch fish in McElligot's Pool!"
Premise/Plot. Marco, the young boy in the story, is fishing at McElligot's Pool. Though the farmer warns him that the pool is just where people throw junk, the young boy claims he's not foolish or wasting his time fishing there. He tells how the pool could be--might be--connected to the sea itself. And how right this minute even all sorts of fish might be making their way to the pool for him to catch. He describes hundreds of fish, giving his imagination room to shine. But is the farmer convinced? Are readers?

My thoughts: It is nice to see Marco again. (I'm assuming that this Marco is the Marco of And To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street, which was published ten years previously.) Marco's imagination is going strong.

Even though I don't like fishing. I liked this book about fishing. I liked it more than I thought I would.
I might catch a thin fish,
I might catch a stout fish.
I might catch a short
or a long, long, drawn-out fish.
Any kind! Any shape! Any color or size!
I might catch some fish that would open your eyes!
and
Oh, the sea is so full of a number of fish
If a fellow is patient, he might get his wish!
This one won a Caldecott Honor. Half the illustrations are in black and white. Half the illustrations are in color.

Have you read McElligot's Pool? Did you like it? love it? hate it? I would love to hear what you thought of it!

If you'd like to join me in reading or rereading Dr. Seuss' picture books (chronologically) I'd love to have you join me! The next book I'll be reviewing is Thidwick The Big-Hearted Moose.

© 2015 Becky Laney of Becky's Book Reviews

0 Comments on Seuss on Saturday #5 as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
23. Weekend Links-A Recap of the Wildly Successful Multicultural Children’s Book Day

Wow! what an amazing week!

Mia @pragmaticmom and I started off Multicultural Children’s Book Day with a bang on January 27th!!!

We had a wonderful blogtalk radio interview with Kori Miller from Back Porch Writer. There we discussed why we started Multicultural Children’s Book Day as well as the importance of children having diverse books in their hands, schools, and libraries.

Our MCCBD linky went wild with incredible reviews of books from our publisher and author sponsors as well as people putting up links to reviews and activities they’ve done in the past. If you have a link you’d like to share which deals with a multicultural or diverse children’s book please fill free to link HERE. The linky is up for a couple more days.

Twitter Party! Our first-ever twitter party for MCCBD was a huge success and we had 11 lucky winners win multicultural book bundles including a Grand Prize bundle of 12 children’s books!

I loved seeing comments from party participants like this one:
Twitter Party

I don’t think I’ve ever had an hour fly by so fast! We had 11 lucky winners who won multicultural book bundles. Lots of great reading for the winter months :) Here’s a Storified recap of the MCCBD Twitter Party thanks to the wonderful Kim Vij at Educator’s Spin on It .   Miss the party ? Don’t worry !! Did you know that with Storify you can still interact with everyone on the twitter party as if you were at there with us. Just click reply or retweet and bring this party back to life. Remember to use the hashtag #ReadYourWorld.

Friends Celebrating with Us!!!
Author Sherri Graves Smith was on 11alive in Atlanta on January 22nd celebrating and promoting Multicultural Children’s Book Day. Have a look at her inspiring and motivational interview.
Sherri is a champion in so many ways. She is the author of more than 40 books !! To read more about Sherry, her daily journey with cancer, plus her incredible philanthropic heart raising over $400,000 with Coca-Cola for the Atlanta Cancer Care Foundation, providing patients with their daily expenses so that they can afford to seek treatment, have a look HERE.   Get ready to be inspired!
Other friends celebrating with us this week is the Association of Jewish Libraries (AJL) who announced the winners of the 2015 Sydney Taylor Book Awards for Jewish children’s and teen literature. You can find a listing of all the winners HERE. There are so many wonderful books on this list and few of them I’ll be reviewing here in the next few weeks.
Our friends and Platinum Sponsor Wisdom Tales Press celebrated Multicultural Children’s Book Day by having  Wisdom Tales staff do several readings of Pine and the Winter Sparrow by Alexis York Lumbard and Beatriz Vidal at University Elementary School here in Bloomington. Here is our very own senior editor, Roger, telling the story to some eager 2nd graders. We hope everyone had as good a time as they did.
To celebrate Multicultural Children's Book Day, the Wisdom Tales staff did several readings of Pine and the Winter Sparrow (http://ow.ly/I34L2) by Alexis York Lumbard and Beatriz Vidal at University Elementary School here in Bloomington.  Here is our very own senior editor, Roger, telling the story to some eager 2nd graders. We hope everyone had as good a time as we did.

Multicultural Children’s Books Day is such a celebration which has created a vast resource of multicultural books and authors on our website.

Multicultural Children Book Resources

LAST CHANCE to grab your FREE gift to YOU. This copy of my Read Your World Multicultural Booklists and Activities for Kids will not be available much longer.

Read Your World Multicultural Booklist and Activities for Kids

Thank you for all of your support!

The post Weekend Links-A Recap of the Wildly Successful Multicultural Children’s Book Day appeared first on Jump Into A Book.

Add a Comment
24. Little Red's Riding 'Hood (2015)

Little Red's Riding 'Hood. Peter Stein. Illustrated by Chris Gall. 2015. [February 2015] Scholastic. 40 pages. [Source: Review copy]

First sentence: Here and there, up and down, in and out, Little Red loved riding around his 'hood. One day, Big Blue Mama gave Little Red an important job. "Poor Granny Putt Putt is feeling run-down," she said. "Her oil is muddy, her exhaust pipe's exhausted, and her wiper fluid is wiped out. Please take her this basket of goodies right away."

Well. I almost don't know what to say about it. It's unusual and original all in one, I suppose. I'd never have thought about retelling the tale of Little Red Riding Hood in this way. The book is set in Vroomville, and all the characters are machines. Little Red is a scooter; Granny Put-Put is a golf cart; and the Big Bad Wolf, well, he's a very mean monster truck. The story is familiar enough, I suppose, in the end, yet it has an original feel to it. That doesn't mean that I personally love it.

Text: 3 out of 5
Illustrations: 3 out of 5
Total: 6 out of 10

© 2014 Becky Laney of Becky's Book Reviews

0 Comments on Little Red's Riding 'Hood (2015) as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment
25. Selayar dan Takabonerate Surga Menyelam di Sulawesi Utara

<!--[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE <![endif]-->

Pulau Selayar adalah pusat wisata bahari di Provinsi Sulawesi Selatan. Pulau ini adalah bagian dari Taman Nasional Takabonerate. Ini adalah sebuah pulau yang memiliki atau terbesar ketiga di dunia setelah kepulauan Maladewa dan Marshall. Selayar terdapat di Flores dan merupakan pintu gerbang menuju ke Taman Nasional Taka Bonerate.

selayar-dan-takabonerate-surga-menyelam-sulawesi-utara

Kepulauan Selayar memiliki pantai yang indah dengan pasirnya yang berwarna putih dan airnya yang jernih. Anda bisa berenang atau bersantai di pantai sambil menikmati keindahan alam di sekitar Pulau Selayar. Selain itu, bukit-bukit hijau yang membentang, serta gugusan batu karang memanjang ke arah laut sejauh 200 meter merupakan pemandangan yang luar biasa dari tempat ini. Baca juga : Tips Berwisata Kepantai
Kepulauan Selayar memiliki letak yang sangat strategis terutama bagi anda yang ingin melakukan beberapa kegiatan seperti menyelam, snorkeling atau berenang dan memancing.
Bagian timur dari kepulauan ini adalah tempat yang sering dikunjungi oleh para wisatawan. Tempat ini juga terdapat banyak resort yang menyediakan fasilitas menyelam dan bisa di sewa dengan harga yang relatif murah. Selayar dan Takabonerate adalah alternatif terbaik untuk menyelam dan menikmati keindahan bawah laut selain Raja Ampat, dan Selat Bali. Pulau Selayar yang terkenal akan keindahan bawah lautnya itu memiliki terumbu karang yang sangat luas. Ada sekitar 1 juta hektar terumbu karang yang ada di tempat ini.
Tidak mengherankan apabila Selayar kemudian menjadi salah satu permata laut yang terindah di dunia. Selain itu, alamnya yang masih murni merupakan nilai plus dari tempat ini.
Di tempat ini visibilitas ketika menyelam mencapai 30 meter. Salah satu yang paling menarik dari tempat ini adalah tebing karang hasil letusan gunung berapi. Tak hanya itu, ketika anda menyelam, anda akan banyak menemukan ikan-ikan langka seperti Barakuda, Giant Travelly, Marlin, Sailfish, Dogtooth Tuna, Yellowfin, Wahoo, dan Makerels.

Rute Menuju Kepulauan Selayar
Rute menuju Pulau Selayar dan Taman Nasional Taka Bonerate sebenarnya tidak terlalu sulit. Dari Makassar anda bisa menuju ke Pulau Selayar dengan menggunakan mobil, bus, dan menyeberang menggunakan Ferry. Perjalanan biasanya memakan waktu sekitar 8 hingga 9 jam.
Jika anda ingin mendapatkan informasi lebih tentang resort yang ada di pulau ini, yaitu Resorts Selayar Island. Anda bisa mengunjungi www.Selayarislandresort.com, resort ini terletak sekitar pertengahan antara pantai barat Pulau Selayar dan tempat menyelam di bagian timur. Tempat ini menawarkan kamar yang memiliki AC dan memberikan kenyamanan serta beberapa fasilitas modern. Akomodasi yang dimilikinya diantaranya adalah aku akses ke 50 spot diving, perahu, dan masih banyak lagi yang lainnya.
Selain itu anda juga bisa membuka situs dinas pariwisata kabupaten Selayar yang beralamat di www.Selayartourism.com. Disana anda bisa mendapatkan beberapa informasi mengenai hotel, penginapan, serta panduan berwisata di Pulau Selayar. Selain itu, cobalah untuk mengunjungi www.takabonerate.net untuk menggali informasi lebih banyak.

0 Comments on Selayar dan Takabonerate Surga Menyelam di Sulawesi Utara as of 1/1/1900
Add a Comment

View Next 25 Posts